October 2021 Reads in Books

  • Nov. 1, 2021, 6:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Crescent City: House of Earth & Blood
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 1/5
Thoughts: Bryce is everything and deserves better than Hunt. Hunt is trash and deserved everything he got. But also, 800+ pages and one measly pepper? I deserve better.

The Maddest Obsession (Book #2 of the Made Men series)
Author: Danielle Lori
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 4/5
Thoughts: I haven’t decided where this book and the one after this stand - they’re both fighting for the #1 spot. There’s something about a hot mafia man with some OCD and obsessive tendencies in suit that just. chef’s kiss Also, Gianna’s snark is everything that is good in this world.

Zodiac Academy: The Reckoning (Book #3)
Author: Caroline Peckham & Susanne Valenti
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: I have a love hate relationship with this series. I’m not much of a fan of bully romance - too much of a hopeless romantic. But I need to know what happens in this series, so I’m sticking it out. But I would do reckless things for Orion.

It Ain’t Me, Babe (Hades Hangmen #1)
Author: Tillie Cole
Stars: 3/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: I couldn’t with this one. There was so much potential, but it seemed like the author was just fishing for the most outlandish, shocking points for that shock value. It gave me skeezy vibes.

Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 0/5
Thoughts: I love SJM’s universes. And I’m trying with this one. But, young adult isn’t really my vibe, so it’s taking a minute to get through with this. I just want to know when Aelin and Rowan show up.

Sexual Awakenings
Author: Kate Stewart
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: You can’t go wrong with a Kate Stewart book. And after a bit of a slump in September it’s nice to come in with an easy read like this. The romance was 5 stars, the spice was 5 stars. I’ll forever be a fan of Kate Stewart’s.

Games We Play
Author: Dana Isaly
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 5/5
Thoughts: ~90 pages of just smut. And I am here for it.

It Ends With Us
Author: Colleen Hoover
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 2/5
Thoughts: BookTok really had me going in thinking I was going to be traumatized and sob over this book. Don’t get me wrong, I can see why this book tugs at the heart strings and why it resulted in tears. The deeper meaning. But, it didn’t not reach the levels of some of the TikToks I’ve seen on it. Regardless, the book as a whole is amazing, I can see why people love it so much. Ryle is trash.

1 - Deviant King, 2 - Steel Princess, 3 - Twisted Kingdom
Author: Rina Kent
Stars: 4/5, 4/5, 3/5
Peppers: 4/5
Thoughts: Like mentions, bully romances are just hard for me. So this was a struggle, but again, I had to get through it to figure out what happens. And what a let down. By the time you get to the third book it just feels so rushed. So much tension and this backstory was built in the first two and then it just…fell.

The Darkest Temptation (Book #2 of the Made Men series)
Author: Danielle Lori
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 4/5
Thoughts: Ronan. Mila. That’s all there is to say. This series will go down as a fave. And like I said, I haven’t decided if this is #1 out of the three. The brothers are just tied.

The Silent Waters
Author: Brittainy C. Cherry
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 2/5
Thoughts: This book is just gold. I cried. I love love. Just everything about this story is beautiful. It will go down as a favorite.

Someone Else’s Ocean
Author: Kate Stewart
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: Ian’s dirty talk will forever be etched in my mind. Another iconic story from Kate Stewart. As someone that has struggled with anxiety my entire life, reading this really hit close to home. I love everything about this book

Haunting Adeline
Author: H.D. Carlton
Stars: 4/5
Peppers: 4/5
Thoughts: This book is a wild ride. I’m still not positive how I feel about it. Lots of dark themes and taboo-ish. It’s dark and twisted. But I’m invested.

Flock
Author: Kate Stewart
Stars: 5/5
Peppers: 3/5
Thoughts: The Ravenhood series is my all-time favorite. It’s my single personality trait and any excuse to talk about it I will. Just thinking about it makes me weep. But this is the 4th or 5th time I’ve listened to the audiobook since June (when I first read these books). I love everything about these books, and they have changed my soul.

xx Shea


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.