I forgot..... in All kinds of nonsense spewing forth

  • May 19, 2014, 8:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I forgot to write an entry about my daughters actual graduation.....I started with tears as soon as the cap and gown were put on....yup, emotional maniac that I am!

We took lots of pictures before we left the house for our hour ride to NIU, again, tears flowed....not just from me this time....that's right folks, my mom showed up at the house and we both lost it...often!

We caravaned to NIU, nine of us all together, in three different cars and met up in Dekalb. Hubby and I stopped and picked up gorgeous roses for our gorgeous graduate.

I walked I to the convocation center and cried....again!

There was a steel drum band playing, kinda strange, as the graduates marched in. That's right, no pomp and circumstances. I felt ripped off! We have been waiting for a long time to hear pomp and circumstances and instead, I felt like we were on a Caribbean cruise!

While waiting for her to walk in. I was looking at the commencement book and found her name with a tiny little star next to it. I asked her BF why there was a star next to her name and he hemmed and hawed for a few seconds and then told me that she wanted to surprise us....she was graduating with high honors! Magma Cum Laude!

Talk about shock! Again, the tears just fell out of my eyes!

When they called her name and she walked across the stage to receive her diploma, her brothers yelled and screamed and whistles so loud that people all around us were a wee bit frightened! She looked straight up at us and held that diploma up over her head with such joy, such pride! Guess what I did then....I cried! No surprise there!

We left NIU for the very last time after taking lots of pictures and went to dinner at her favorite restaurant near our house. As I sat at the table, looking around at my kids, their significant others, my mom and my darling husband, I knew at that precise moment, that I was the luckiest person on earth.

And, I cried!


It's Time For Me. May 19, 2014

Such a sweet entry. Made me tear up just reading it!

C. R. C. May 19, 2014

Aww! Go Princess! And Congrats, Mom!

motherofthree May 19, 2014

Great job Princess!!! =^..^=

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.