Temari 27 - 35 Yes, I'm alive, just super busy in Temari

  • Oct. 28, 2021, 1:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been really enjoying making temari based on themes. This one is based on blue jay colours:

alt text

alt text

I did a series based on Harry Potter house sigil colours and a snitch. Wings is hard, yo. J had to help me figure out (a) what to use, and (b) how to attach them securely without damaging the stitching. I hope they sell as a set, but unlikely given how ardently people tend to stick to “their” house.

alt text

I honestly don’t know why this stitched up the way it did (see the white lines that aren’t symmetrical?) I know it has to do with angles, but it just seems so peculiar because I haven’t seen (or maybe just noticed) it like this before. Nevertheless, I like it.

alt text

alt text

I’m now entering that phase where I’m tired of making temari at a rushed pace and so I push back by not making any temari for a few days. This is counterproductive as the big craft show is NEXT WEEKEND (Nov 6-7) and I should likely try to get as many more made as I can between now and then.

Nevertheless … I started a series of 3 in the exact same colours to show how you get a few and display them together, on a table, etc. I’ve gotten two finished and the third is wrapped, but not stitched, but I am absolutely enamoured with this one.

alt text

Here it is with the first one of the set that I did on the weekend.

alt text

I have orders for 3 temari for various family and friends that I will do after the craft show. I suspect a few more will roll in at the craft show, and then immediately afterwards as people start thinking about Christmas.

Today I’m doing a mock-up of my table in the basement to ensure that the temari don’t roll off of it if it gets jostled. I had requested a stand with holes in it (big enough that the temari would rest in the hole) from J, but he said he didn’t want to put the holes in it in case we wanted to use it for something else. I can’t imagine what else I would use it for, but hey … this works … I guess. Hence the test today.

That’s all you get. I’m fine. More writing after next weekend. Maybe.


❤️vee October 28, 2021

those are really cool! of I had more time right now to do something like that, I would, but they look so tedious and time consuming!

auburn_girl ❤️vee ⋅ October 28, 2021

They are, and they aren't. Each one takes between 4-6 hours from start to finish, except the gold swirls took about 7 hours. So it's good to make one in a weekend, but the more complex the pattern, the more time you'll invest.

Firebabe October 28, 2021

Oh wow. WOW. I'm loving all of these! And I think you will definitely have interest in the Harry Potter themed ones. The pattern on the snitch is so cool, and the wings are perfect! If I saw these at a craft show I would absolutely get some. Great job, and good luck if you don't have a chance to write again before the show!

auburn_girl Firebabe ⋅ October 28, 2021

Thank you! I kept each of the ends the same pattern, but the obi is different on each of the HP ones too. It's probably too much wishful thinking to hope I sell out, but a girl can dream.

Delilah October 28, 2021

These are stunning!!

auburn_girl Delilah ⋅ October 28, 2021

Thank you so much!

Serin October 28, 2021

I feel like you've stepped up your game while you've been quiet. The blue jay has personality to go with the colours. The purple and white might not be symmetrical, but it looks so regal and elegant.

And the snitch and the larger one with that similar swirly pattern made me gasp. They are so pretty!

Serin October 28, 2021

In case you don't have time to post, good luck at the show!

Jigger October 30, 2021

Every single one is my favorite.

I’m not the biggest Potter fan out there, but the way you stitched the snitch, it actually gives the impression of shimmering gold.

And the one of which you are enamored, I am also enamored.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.