Oops in 2021

  • Oct. 18, 2021, 9:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I fell off the “one scary movie a day” wagon with my trip over the weekend, but I’ve picked up an audiobook instead. Erik Larson (author of Devil in the White City and other nonfiction books) has written a “ghost” story that he’s only released on audiobook. It’s got a lovely gothic horror feel to it, and I’ve got about two hours left and am still not entirely sure what’s going on, so I guess I’m enjoying it!

Hopefully I can get back on the scary movie train this week. Not today, though - daughter had an eye doctor appointment this morning that took two hours (she’s in a clinical research study), and maybe not tomorrow because while I was driving back from Florida my car decided it needed new brake pads so I’m taking it in tomorrow morning. I’ll be driving my motorcycle to work, wish me luck - I haven’t ridden very much in recent years but I’m pretty sure I’ve still got the hang of it. Maybe I’ll take it out tonight so I can make sure! And then Wednesday we have dentist appointments, and Thursday I’m sure there’s something, and Friday I’m taking the Great Dane back to the vet to see if her anal gland infection has finally cleared up. So maybe someday I’ll have free time again, but I’m not really sure when…


Calicakes October 18, 2021

Motorcyle? Wow, be careful.

-d October 18, 2021 (edited October 19, 2021)

Edited

  1. It's very awesome that you ride a motorcycle. Total badass.

  2. Now all I can picture is a great Dane dragging it's big ole bum trying to express it's anal glands. Lol!

Honor October 19, 2021

What’s a good first horror movie? Like ...not too scary but spooky. I’m trying to figure out something for Mini, but am coming up short. I watched Pet Semetary at his age and it scarred me for life so I’m trying to avoid that. Ha!

Adira Honor ⋅ October 20, 2021

I was going to recommend Jaws but he might never want to go on the boat again, so maybe not...

Has he read Coraline? That movie (Tim Burton I think? If not it definitely feels like him) is scary without being scarring.

I also have a collection of old black and white horror movies - some Castle films, but also Creature from the Black Lagoon and that kind of thing - my kids started watching those with me a few years ago. They've lost interest now, but it's not a bad genre introduction!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.