Ni Hao! in Magical Realism

  • May 17, 2014, 7:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are in Beijing, China!!! A few snags in getting here in a timely fashion due to travel delays via Hong Kong, but we got to Mainland China on Wednesday, went to the Great Wall for an inspection/walk on Thursday, then sight-seeing on Friday to the Ming Dynasty Tombs and a Cloisonne factory, and then today (Saturday) we woke up at 3am local time, drove to the Great Wall again and ran the 2014 Great Wall Marathon!

It was difficult, and it was amazing. Some preliminary thoughts...the scenery was fantastic, and every minute on the Wall itself was inspiring. The run was grueling...started off with ~5k straight uphill, then onto the Wall with lots of ups and downs. Then a long loop on well-trafficked roads, mountain paths, and gravel trails. Lots of townspeople came out to look at the crazy sweaty foreigners, and they were very sweet. So many kids especially saying hello, presenting us with flowers, adorable. It has been hard for me here being so helpless, not being able to read or speak the language, but the people are so nice. There were also so many animals...pretty horses, lovely well-cared-for dogs, chickens, and bunny rabbits! Green/blue rolling hills, a reservoir stocked with fish...so much to see!

At about 20 miles in, you go back onto the Wall, and do the same section again, this time backwards. It was really rough. The steps are so steep, there are so many of them and it was mentally extremely tough. The same section of only about 2 miles seemed to take forever. One we reached the top, we had some downstairs and rolling stairs sections, which felt great on the legs. Then we were finally off the Wall and got to do that initial uphill 5k downhill this time which was glorious. Then another blessedly flat mile and we were at the finish line!

It felt so good to finish - this was A's dream that I'd gotten for him for Christmas this year, and after being really nervous about the cutoff time, we were thrilled to finish sooner than we'd thought. (They say take your most recent marathon and multiply by 1.5, but thankfully we were able to finish in less than that multiple of our best marathon which was a few years ago.) This was not so much a running challenge, but more a general endurance/mental strength exercise. I cannot in good faith make an overall recommendation for this run, but if you are a bit crazy and willing to suffer twice as much as a normal marathon for a "bucket list" experience, I say do this race.

After the marathon, it took us like three hours to get home in intense Beijing traffic, but then I just had one of the top 5 best showers of my life (I think after Kilimanjaro takes the cake but after English Channel, Key West, and Inca Trail are also contenders) and am holed up, damp and clean, with my love. So proud of him and happy to have him with me, side by side, for so many fantastic experiences.

And now for some "Great Wall" Chinese Cabernet, posed with our medals and some Chinese coke..surprisingly decent and what a well deserved treat! (We set up this shot to send to A's parents to let him know we were done and now relaxing.) Happy Weekend Everyone!

alt text


pandora May 17, 2014

Wow, congrats! Looking forward to more pictures and stories about China!

perfunctory May 17, 2014

You two are certified Bad Asses. Congrats on a tough but rewarding race!

Red May 17, 2014

You guys are awesome.

Deleted user May 17, 2014

Haha! You two always seem to be about 6 months to 1 year ahead of us and our life "to do list" :) I can't tell you how many times you've done something that we are in the works of planning ourselves! Machu Piccu/hiking the Inca Trail, the Northern Lights and tiny viewing igloos (just to name a couple!) and now this!

I was looking into running the Great Wall Marathon in 2015 but it's looking like 2016 is going to be my year. I follow them on Facebook and love seeing the photos and updates as the race approaches (and concludes).

Congrats to you both!

nightborn May 17, 2014

amazing! Congrats to you and your honey!

cariad May 17, 2014

That's incredible, so so cool!!

noooncy. May 17, 2014

Amazing! Congrats! Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

At Last May 17, 2014

What an amazing experience. You two are perfect together and I love all your adventures. Congrats!

kashka May 17, 2014

This is amazing. I so love reading about your adventures.

I feel like, once upon a time, you and I may have been on similar life paths. Then I went left and you went right and now our lives are NOTHING alike. But that is exactly why I love reading you.

sarahbaby. May 17, 2014

I just love this entry. Can't totally pinpoint why but this just lifted my spirits and put a big grin on my face -- thank you!

Calicakes May 17, 2014

That is so cool.

echopod May 17, 2014

I looked at this marathon!!!!!! Awesome!!!!!

LeftisRight May 17, 2014

Congrats! You all are amazing!!

kiss kitty bang! May 17, 2014

This is ridiculous. YOU are ridiculous.

Ridiculously AWESOME THAT IS. Yikes!! How the hell are you so cool?!

dali May 17, 2014

Seriously awesome!

rubix cube May 18, 2014

Congrats! Amazing.

Homebird May 18, 2014

OMG I've always said it, so forgive the repeat, but you guys ROCK! Donal and I both feel so inadequate! So glad A enjoyed his birthday gift! Tell him a big hello from us both and looking forward to hearing all about it in person soon ( I am off over the summer if you fancy a long weekend/personalized tour of Ireland? Just throwing it out there!) S xx

Deleted user May 19, 2014

AMAZING! Thanks so much for sharing your experiences here...

Deleted user May 19, 2014

I see the same group runs a 'Polar Circle' marathon. Can you please do that one too? :)

Miso Honey May 20, 2014

Wow, that sounds awesome! Glad I get to live this vicariously through you!

dickson. May 20, 2014

Fricken. Amazing.

BlueEyedDevil May 20, 2014

That is so awesome! The biggest of high fives to both of you. :)

edna million May 29, 2014

That's a great Christmas gift! He looks quite happy with it in the photos. I worked in several Chinese restaurants a million years ago, and learned a (very) few words of Chinese, Ni Hao being one I actually remember. I had no idea that's how it's spelled, though!

I wonder if Chinese Coke is made with sugar instead of corn syrup. There's a place here that sells Mexican coke with sugar, and it's WAY better. I don't like Coke much but it tastes like I remember it tasting from when I was a kid. Which makes sense as it was sugar all those years ago.

Satine edna million ⋅ May 29, 2014

This is funny - we were actually talking about the same thing...the coke there tastes like our HFCS American coke, but even more bitter and chemically! Definitely not the nice "mexican" coke with real sugar that most places outside the US has!

I don't know if that is the right spelling, I did a quick google check and it seemed to be right but I am not sure there is a standardized way to write most chinese words in english?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.