Saturday - 17.05.14 in Your Face

  • May 17, 2014, 6:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have, without thinking about it, spent too much money this weekend. Doesn't really matter, though. Got a new hair straightener (can't remember if I mentioned this already - it was $68, marked down from $108). Was so impressed with how nicely it straightened my hair (I had been without a straightener for a year), I popped into a cheap, chain hairdresser to have my long lost fringe cut back in. Allowed the girl to trim up my horrendous ends (I had thought it had been 12 months since my last haircut, turns out it was more like 18 months). Here's a quick, super cheerful photo that I snapped this afternoon before heading out:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v641/Skeletal<em>Being/AB1</em>zpsf59e71b3.jpg

So the haircut was $26-something, which is insanely cheap for a hair cut, but then she only trimmed it up, so it wasn't a full cut or anything.

Came home and dug mother's bike out of the shed, it seems to require two new inner tubes in the tyres, which was slightly disappointing. I had hoped to be able to ride it tomorrow, but I think I will speak to the guy at the bike shop near my work, figure out what to do to get them repaired/replaced, and hit the bike path next weekend. I have big plans to do NOTHING tomorrow now.

I still feel really tired. I mustn't be sleeping properly at all. I know that last night I was lying awake and fretting about bullshit. Chances are high that tonight I'll do the same thing. Remember how I was saying that I beat myself up over the smallest things? Today I have been red faced and cursing myself over the following: When I left my friend's house this morning, I hugged and kissed her goodbye, then went to hug and kiss her husband goodbye. At the last second, he turned his head and I kissed his neck instead of his cheek. It felt far too intimate and weird and now I feel like such a weirdo idiot about it. I am certain that he didn't care, because he has pretty limited social skills and I doubt it would cross his mind that something like that was inappropriate... Yet here I am, replaying the incident, cringing, feeling awful and as though I crossed a line, even though I know it was a total accident. I am so dumb.

I am currently tracking my parcel and it is currently in Ohio, awaiting dispatch. Always gives me a chuckle how one little parcel can make such a huge journey. First it went to Sydney, then to Los Angeles, now Cincinatti. It flew over Santa Fe, where it will eventually end up, which always seems silly, but I realise that there aren't sorting centres everywhere!

I'm listening to the "oldies" radio station, Saturday Night Party Shuffle. I freaking love it, next to no ads or talking, and plenty of bad music. Cher - "Turn Back Time" is on at the moment. I miss my ipod so much, and have no idea where it is. It was making horrible cracking noises the last few times I used it (not coming from the speakers, coming from the actual gadget) so I doubt it will even be in working order when I do find it. I'll just have to restart my music collection once I get to the US.

Paul Kelly - "Dumb Things" is on the radio now.

So I went out for steak with my Heslop tonight. We pigged out like nobody's business, then went for ice cream after. It was nice to spend time together, just the two of us. We make really bad jokes to one another and giggle. He just texted me and said he really needed tonight, poor guy. He is dealing with the loss of his parents so well, but I know it has really knocked him for six. It's so unfair.

Michael Jackson - "Black or White".

Time for me to climb into bed and hopefully doze off. My throat really started to hurt on the drive home, it feels half closed over and swollen. Hopefully it's just a bit of dehydration, I'm sure I ate a bucket load of salt with my dinner. I've been sick way too often lately, between that flu and the bout of migraines. I just need to make it through the next three weeks of work - after that, it will suck to be sick, but it'd be much easier to deal with.

Fleetwood Mac - "7 Wonders"


starry-eyed May 18, 2014

Your hair is sooo long! I'm jealous! You look super pretty :)

Beagyoncé May 19, 2014

You look adorable!! So pretty :)

Deleted user May 21, 2014

Wow you're hair is super long! Thanks for your note, hope you're plodding along ok :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.