The weirdly beautiful world of fungi in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Oct. 6, 2021, 11:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Regarding my rituals of walking in the woods at nearby nature preserves or state parks, I said to someone recently, “I mostly am looking either down at the ground or up into the trees or sky.”

That’s generally true, especially during those times of year when the azaleas or camellias are not blooming. And I always have a camera with me because it’s so easy to keep a phone in my pocket. I watch ground closely for patterns and shapes of leaves, weeds, grass, wildflowers and fallen branches and dead wood that in decaying house all kinds of life forms, among them fungi and lichen. I never actually paid that much attention, but I’ve been discovering how vast and intricate their networks in the soil are. And there are certain fungi that can blow your mind with their colors and patterns. It will be obvious in the photos I took of a particular species of fungi know as Polyporaceae.

My inspiration for photographing Nature up close was the great Nature photographer Eliot Porter, whose highly influential color work more than half a century ago has influenced countless other photographers.

Walking in woods is so special to me because where I grew up we had no woods anywhere at all within a fairly large radius. I lived in the suburbs of New Orleans until I was 18 and went off to college. We had large city parks, which were a close approximation with all their live oak trees and paths to walk.

But here where I live now I am within a hour’s drive of parks with woods and marshlands for me to explore. And studying the ground closely, I came across these oddly and sometimes spectacularly beautiful examples of fungi the other day.

Take a look:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/1E0h12


Last updated October 07, 2021


Marg October 07, 2021

These are just amazing aren’t they?

Oswego Marg ⋅ October 07, 2021

Yes! I have always been fascinated by them, but pf late I seem to more fully appreciate them.

Marg Oswego ⋅ October 07, 2021

I was completely fascinated by the stump of a tree which I used to pass in someone’s front garden nearby when I went walking. The top of the little stump was covered in the same colours and patterns as your first photo - it seemed to be enmeshed into the stump - I had no idea how but it was beautiful!

Newzlady October 07, 2021

Pretty! Some of my favorite photo subjects, too.

ConnieK October 07, 2021

Gorgeous.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ October 07, 2021

😌

MageB October 07, 2021

Oh yes, you found some wonderful ones. :)

Oswego MageB ⋅ October 07, 2021

They are special! What a find!

Deleted user October 07, 2021

Those are beauties! If you have Netflix, you might like the documentary Fantastic Fungi. https://fantasticfungi.com/ I haven't seen it yet, but it's on my watch list. Here's the trailer: https://youtu.be/bxABOiay6oA

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ October 07, 2021

Thanks! I do have Netflix and will check that out. After seeing these Polyporaceae, I’ll probably run right into a tree since my head will be pointed down the whole time looking for anything resembling them.

Jinn October 12, 2021

You do have some lovely places to walk in !

Oswego Jinn ⋅ October 12, 2021

I’m very blessed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.