God Spoke in Answered Prayers

Revised: 10/07/2021 1:44 a.m.

  • Oct. 5, 2021, 5 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday a coworker bombarded me with questions about God. It felt like he was more interested in attempting to argue and trap me in flawed human logic, rather than in learning something new, but I answered everything as best I could.

The strange and wonderful and terrifying thing was that every question that issued from this man perfectly correlated to words that had been passed to me from my best friend, a church friend and my minister all within the last 2 days. While it was happening, I was definitely amazed and a bit light-headed, as I knew it was a test from God to see whether I’d been paying attention and whether I would use this opportunity to be a witness for Him.

The coworker wasn’t impressed with my answers. He repeatedly shot back with “but what about this” and “what about that” and became increasingly aggressive. I knew he couldn’t understand any of it because God can’t fit into a tiny human logic box.

Well, in the midst of the bombardment of questions, the coworker was temporarily interrupted by another person who needed help with something, which gave me a moment to turn away from him and quickly turn to God in fervent prayer.

I begged God to PLEASE speak through me exactly what this man needed to hear directly from the mouth of God, and not from me. When the coworker returned just a minute later with a fiery glint in his eye (like that belligerent arrogance that Satan had when he stupidly offered the earth to Jesus - Matthew 4), I was ready.

He said something about how God is just something people invented to deal with the horrible fact that there is no God. Then he asked, “What is God to you?”

I didn’t pause to think, I just knew exactly what to say, though I cannot recall precisely what it was! I know I said that God reveals himself to everyone in a different way and that God deeply desires a PERSONAL RELATIONSHIP with His children.

At that, the coworker who had been so severe and reckless in his speech toward me suddenly backed up, widened his eyes and got quiet! Then he said: “WOAH. Now You’re talking! NOW you’re saying something!”

And you know, at the time I thought, “Cool! God spoke! God spoke through me and made this man stop!” And while that felt truly amazing in and of itself to bare witness to an answered prayer especially in such a swift manner, NOW that I am retelling this story, I am fully realizing that GOD CAN EASILY SPEAK TO TWO PEOPLE AT ONCE. It is entirely possible that God actually spoke back to me THROUGH that coworker to basically tell me “Now THIS is sharing something vital with a nonbeliever, child.”


Last updated October 07, 2021


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.