Beauty and Healing Balm in Creations

  • May 16, 2014, 3:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've been working on a formula for a beauty and healing balm based on ingredients contained in Egyptian Magic. I really like Egyptian Magic, but it's so damned expensive, I can't afford to use it.

I have no idea what proportions the ingredients are in Egyptian Magic, but I'm pretty sure, based on my experiments that they are using a lesser quality olive oil and far less of the healing ingredients than I've used so far. I've also added some ingredients to my balm that compliment the other ingredients and make it sufficiently different I can call it my own.

I use the product as a moisturizer, but it also has qualities that aid healing of minor skin issues and helps prevent scarring. Right now we are using it on Mason's face. He took a nosedive off his bicycle, using his face to break his fall. Poor guy. The balm is really helping. My son loves it as a lip balm, but I'm going to reformulate a little specifically for a lip balm.

I haven't landed on a name that I'm happy with yet. Suggestions are welcome.


Deleted user May 16, 2014

I really love this: http://www.sephora.com/minted-rose-lip-balm-P164932

...it's great under nude lipstick. But I use it for little burns and nicks and dry spots elsewhere.

FitLadyDi May 17, 2014

I adore alliteration. ...Linda's Lovely Linamint....

FitLadyDi May 17, 2014

...or Liniment....if correct spelling is important. ..lol

Kimber May 17, 2014

Oh, this is cool! Are you using the pollen, royal jelly, and propolis? What extras have you added? Where do you get your ingredients? Do you buy online?

Sorry to bombard you with questions, but I've also been working on formulas for healing balms and lotion bars. But the problem I've run into is that I'm not sure where to go to replenish my dwindling supplies. All my local shops went out of business when the economy tanked, so I need a trustworthy online supplier.

I hope you keep us updated on your alchemy :-)

Linda Kimber ⋅ May 17, 2014

Yes, I'm using all of those ingredients. I get most of my ingredients on-line. Amazon and eBay.

seedys May 17, 2014

How much fun is that? You'll find the perfect name, I know you will. So talented, that is you!

offmychest May 17, 2014

are you planning on selling this?

Linda offmychest ⋅ May 17, 2014

Yes, if I can turn out a good product.

BentnotBroken May 18, 2014

I want a jar. I'm smearing on Les's head and hopefully it will sink in. :-) okay,now who is grasping at straws?

NorthernSeeker May 18, 2014

Linda's Luscious Lotion.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.