Liver Biopsy Results in Meeting Mr. Jesus Christ

  • May 18, 2014, 2:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Did you feel like I was never going to post the results of my liver biopsy? I know I sure was getting impatient over the whole affair. It turns out the reason for the long delay was my tissue sample was sent to University of Michigan hospital for a second opinion. I never did find out what the first opinion was, I'm just glad a second one was sought.

The results, hmmmmm..... there isn't anything I didn't expect. I have Hepatitis C Type 1 or 2 (problems defining), the most difficult to treat. Additionally I have Cirrhosis with a substantial amount of scaring. Finally there is Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver disease.

Treatment options are a nightmare. There are questions needing answers that I still don't have. There is a new treatment/cure coming out around November or December. My doctor wants to use it because it's relatively gentle compared to others and has a 90-100% CURE rate. That one will likely not be covered by my insurance, of course.

Presently, and for as long as "treatment" has been available for Hepatitis Interferon injections and Ribavirin pills together were the only choice. I've not been a candidate for this due to my bipolar being so severe and this treatment causing such severe depression.

Here's the catches. First, the new treatment might not be available to me, Second it might not come out in time to treat me, seems I need to get started pretty soon. Third, the Interferon is a choice my doctor doesn't want to use. The "flu symptoms" people get from interferon is more like the side effects of chemotherapy. Fourth, there might be experimental programs available.

My doctor and I decided to send all my information to Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. They are the leading transplant program in this area. We want their opinion as well as what programs they have. Worst case would be I go with the Interferon treatment through Henry Ford, reason being if (likely) the Interferon destroys my liver they are a transplant facility and I will already be a patient and more likely to get what I need.

Earlier I said this is all information I knew already, it was only a matter of finding out how advanced it is. I expected, after 35 years, things would look pretty rough. What I didn't expect was the change in how I'm thinking. I've always known this. Now it has become very real on an emotional level. When I was a kid I felt invincible and didn't take much of this terribly seriously. Now, immortality is a larger part of my self and I have stood up and taken note. I'm in a heap of a mess here.

Not to say I'm giving up or anything like that. I know if God is willing He will heal me. I know this is another trial of my faith and like David I will stand firm through any storm that comes. There is more to come, Monday I have my uterine biopsy. I am concerned about that, so give it plenty of prayer. I'd appreciate any of you prayer warriors doing the same for me.

Thursday I see my shrinkologist, who has not been informed of any of these tests. I've been three months without seeing him. I've adjusted my own meds to get my lithium levels up to par, and just this past week I've felt well enough to function part of the day. I don't know what he'll say about my having done that. I've been following my lab tests and my primary has been monitoring them. Seems to me I have figured out what dose I need to be somewhat functional. I find it complicated because bottom line is I feel pretty crummy from other issues. Anyhow, the shrink and I may see eye to eye or not. We don't on matters of my faith so I have to overlook his bias there and factor my faith into my treatment as well.

I had gone to bed, need to be up early for church, but I couldn't sleep. This was on my mind and crying myself to sleep wasn't gonna cut it. So now I've pulled my usual late night. I love going to Sunday School and church, being with my church family gives me so much strength, courage and joy from the fellowship. I'll be glad to be there in the morning, no sleep won't matter. OUT!

find my ip


Roseoftexas May 18, 2014

Thinking of you sweet friend!!!! love you much!♥

crystal butterfly May 18, 2014

You are one my prayer list and my church's prayer list. I am glad you have your church family.

Tuff e Nuffy May 20, 2014

Cherie, Do you have family support and or they close by? All of this sounds so serious... Of coarse I am concerned....God's comfort and strength is my prayer. No matter what happens remember that it is all Father filtered. He is still on His throne.

LivingWaterCreek Tuff e Nuffy ⋅ May 20, 2014

Brother, the church is my family, comfort and strength. Without God I have nothing.

Spirit Song May 21, 2014

One of your prayer warriors reporting in, and just letting you know I am praying for your complete healing. Sending blessings and warm hugs, friend.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.