Moving on in Diary

  • May 15, 2014, 8:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just a disclaimer before I start this entry, let it be known that I have been in a pretty angry state over the last couple of weeks. I dont even know where to begin.

Lets just go with my household makes me angry.

I hate living there. I hate going home after work. I'd rather stay at work than go home some days. Getting home doesnt resinate feelings of joy and relaxation. I feel bitter and angry the moment I walk through the door 90% of the time. The only moments I enjoy there are when Kate gets home from work or when I am hanging out with Kate. Let it be known that in the current rant that is about to flow, it excludes Kate because she is the only good thing about that house. Eli and I got back from holidays 3 weeks ago and I think I have maybe spent 3 or 4 nights in my own bed. We dont even suggest staying at mine anymore. I am always at his house.

Its like no one understands the fundamentals of living on their own or even more so in a share house. For example, cleaning the bathroom does not count as wiping the dust off the surfaces of the white bath and sink. There is soap scum that needs to be cleaned, just because a toilet is full of water doesnt mean it cleans itself and mirrors get dirty too you know. And that bin? Yeah if its full it generally means it can be taken down to the trash. Just sayin. That goes for the general rubbish too. Oh and by the way, plastic bags are not recyclable. Neither is half the shit you chuck in there because the general bin is too full.

Bins go out on Tuesday night. Well, they do sometimes. The times where Kate and I do it. The new guy has been good at it. I mean, that one time he took all the bins out is more times than Sam and Nathan have taken on the task themselves. Sam's idea of taking out the bins is to declare its bin night while standing by the bins but not actually doing anything about it. And now I am the one that takes them in all the time as soon as they've been emptied because we've had a number of bins pinched because they've been left out for days. Why didnt I bring them in? Well because I took the lot of them out! And if anyone else cared to empty the bin in the kitchen they'd effing notice there were no bins out the back to put the garbage in! And again thats usually me anyway!!!

Now... lets talk about the dishes shall we. We all use cups, forks, bowls, spoons etc on a daily basis. And yeah, most of the time everyone is pretty good at doing their dishes - if they ever have any due to the fact that they eat take out all the time and it comes with a plastic fork you can throw out. But lets just say they do decide to cook. It takes Sam about two days on average to wash up. She made bacon and eggs on Saturday morning. She washed up Sunday night. Her eggs are still on the bench. Its Tuesday night (at the time I currently writing this... It will probably take me a few days to actually post this).

The other night Nathan actually cooked for the first time in months. The dish rack was full of dry dishes. Of course it was because I am the only one that ever puts dishes away and I hadnt gotten around to doing it yet. I get home and notice that he's used quite a lot of kitchen utensils, pots etc. Stuff there was definitely no room for amongst the clean, dry dishes. So rather than putting them away, even just a few things to make room what does he do? What they always do - next to the dish rack or let the new, wet dishes sit on top of the dry, clean dishes making them not so clean anymore. WTF?! It takes 2 minutes to put the dishes away. And then to make my blood boil even more, I went to wash up the plate I'd used for dinner and he'd taken the five or so forks and knives beside the sink and put them in a pile because I guess they werent his. Fuck you. Seriously. Fuck you. You couldnt take 10 seconds out of your day to just clean them along with your own shit? Fuck me if anyone should ever do that for you. Its not like I didnt clean the rest of your shit up last night after you made scones or anything. I honestly thought about throwing the plate I had across the room. But the plate was mine and I'd rather take as much of my own stuff intact when I leave.

Its now Thursday night. The eggs are still on the bench. She knows they are there because she used two in the scones she made last night - which are also still on the bench.

So anyway, Eli and I are moving out together. I told my roommates today so start getting the word out about the spare room up for grabs and that I only need a week or two notice because Eli said I could move in with him until we find somewhere. I was actually prepared to move back to the coast and do the hour and a half commute for a while.

A girl from work and one of my bosses just moved recently and they are going to loan me some moving boxes. I plan to slowly pack over the next two weeks and make sure I take with me everything that is mine.

I'm not sure if Eli is more inclined to move out with just the two of us and get our own place or if he's thinking about finding a place for us two and one of the couples he lives with. Granted its essentially living with 4 people instead of 5 under one roof but I honestly never see the other two. The main reservation I have with getting a place with them is that one of them has a dog that doesnt currently live here because they cant have a dog in this apartment. If she foresees getting a place so she can have her dog with her, I dont want to have to make sacrifices for the purpose of her to have her dog with her. And when I mean sacrifices I mean I have done some pretty broad searches that come up with over 600 properties and when you select the pets allowed option on the refine search option, that number gets down to less than 20 and more than half of those are in the surrounding suburbs of the search that I have already broadened in the way of possible suburbs.

It also makes me really nervous to have to search for a place as well. I'm actually starting to stress myself out a little bit. I need a drink haha.

By the way. Its now Friday. Yes it takes me a whole week to write and post an entry because we dont have internet at home and its been hard to find the time at work. And the eggs and scones are still on the bench.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.