Post birthday day in A mish mash of entries

  • May 15, 2014, 9:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was a nice day. It’s the day after my birthday so that’s over and done with and doesn’t have to be thought of again for another year. My friend Di and I drove to a lovely little farm shop café at a village about 35 miles away and had afternoon tea. Very English style, but very different from the afternoon teas served in London hotels…. the bread and cakes were home made by a local villager and even with the three tier traditional presentation and crustless sandwiches, it was definitely country tea disguised as high tea. But scrumptious and I bought a loaf of home-made bread to bring home. Son and girlfriend can have some too!

After eating and gossiping, we toodled along to a shopping village, where we indulged our feminine sides and we each bought a pair of shoes. We did just enough shopping to be sated, but not enough to be worn out by it.

Sadly, the drive home wasn’t so good as the day. There had been a horrific accident on the motorway just before the airport junction involving cars, a lorry and a horsebox. The whole northbound motorway was closed (and I think still is). According to news reports the traffic around my town and another nearby town has been gridlocked. We made a long detour and skirted round to the south of the town, thereby missing the worst of the congestion… but I did feel sorry for those commuters who didn’t know the short cuts of the area.

Son made pancakes tonight, which are his main culinary achievement. Girlfriend cleaned up behind him – so that was a definite plus for me as normally I’m the clearer-upper.

And now… here I sit with a nice cup of tea :)


Ferret Mom May 15, 2014

Happy birthday!

Newzlady May 22, 2014

Happy birthday, belated though it is!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.