One way of looking at things in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Sept. 11, 2021, 12:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been asking why I’m here most of my life. If there’s a purpose, I don’t care anymore. I’m 74. I’m on my way out. Let the young people learn the hard way, like I did. No one ever told me anything.

Frank Donofrio
Barber

Isn’t it strange how at certain times of the day, and in certain moods, just about anything you read or ponder makes sense? At least for awhile, or until your mood shifts and you are back to thinking less clearly, which is how we get ourselves into a lot of trouble. But when someone makes sense and challenges our assumptions, there comes a point in life where we don’t need to feel threatened by this. We accept it for what it is. Aging, for instance, does have a purpose. It’s called acquiescence, because we can never go back and change anything.

It’s 3:30 am and I’m still in a strange mood. Maybe I’ve been reading too much news. And there’s no one to say “Goodnight to,” so I will continue to stay up longer like I always do.


Jinn September 11, 2021

You and I both are awake :-)

Oswego Jinn ⋅ September 11, 2021

Oh, yes. I usually don’t get to bed until 6. 😅😲

Jinn Oswego ⋅ September 11, 2021

I hate being such a night owl because I am dragging or sleeping when most people are going strong on their day . However I have a severe inner ear infection (both sides ) so right now I am pretty useless ; can’t stay upright longer than ten minutes at a time . 🤦‍♀️ It always seems to be something. Drat it !

Oswego Jinn ⋅ September 11, 2021

I feel for ya. How’d you get that?

Jinn Oswego ⋅ September 11, 2021

Swimming , I think . Water in my ears :-( . I think the antibiotic is finally starting to kick in, thank goodness. This vertigo is awful.

Marg September 11, 2021

That’s very true - our moods can very much affect our perception of things. Do you find you get a well-rested sleep when you go to sleep in the daytime? I’m very much a natural night owl I think but I do notice a difference in the quality of my sleep on the (very) rare occasions I switch the light off before midnight :)

MageB September 11, 2021

Sleep tight.

Oswego MageB ⋅ September 11, 2021

:)

mcbee September 12, 2021

I've survived and become mentally more healthy by staying aware of major news, but not watching the shows or reading more than a short part of an article. 2016-20 were life changing years and most of it was because what was going on in my head in response to all the increasingly disturbing news. I feel like I lost 4 years I didn't have to lose. What I am doing now is helping a lot. And I agree, having someone to say goodnight to is the preferred way of living life even it it's not always possible.

Oswego mcbee ⋅ September 12, 2021

Yes, those years were extremely turbulent and stressful. We’ll be paying the price for that for awhile.

Jinn September 13, 2021

I read and watch a variety of news sources. I started after 911 and I have not been able to stop. It’s almost a compulsion. Sometimes it feels almost like a safety precaution.

Oswego Jinn ⋅ September 13, 2021

It’s a compulsion for me, and I need to ease up on my news consumption. I want to skim the main headlines and not get into all the details unless I’m really interested.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.