Straight outta quarantine in The day to day

  • Sept. 9, 2021, 11:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A and I got tested on Tuesday for COVID which was day 6 for us in quarantine. That was a whole experience. The school system here has testing at the area middle and high schools starting at 3 pm to 7 pm during the school week. I made us an appointment for 3 pm. It’s a drive thru system and they make you swab yourself. Anyway I get there pretty much right at 3 pm and there’s already quite a line. About 45 minutes into our wait, I get a text message from the lab that is doing the testing saying they already have A’s results. So I click on it and it asks for his birthday, which I put in, and sure enough it was his information and said he was negative. I was pretty super annoyed at that point because obviously it wasn’t us. We were still about 8 cars from the booth.

The workers start making their way around and when they get to me I tell them what was going on. She apologized and said they were learning a new system. She got all our information and then said she was going straight away to check on what was going on. We finally make it up to the booth and she comes out with our swabs. I swab A’s nose and then my own, give her the swabs back and she was about to walk away. Hold up, what happened with the fact that A already had a result? She said that the girl had typed in the wrong reference number so we would get notified again now that he actually had been swabbed. And they would have to go back and figure out who didn’t get sent results and resend them to that person.

About 45 minutes after we get swabbed, I get text messages from them for both of us. We were negative. Huzzah! It meant one more day in quarantine though per the health department guidelines for A. (Technically since I’m vaccinated, I don’t have to quarantine unless I’m showing symptoms.) Wednesday I sent a message to my boss asking if A and I could come back to the center on Thursday. She said the buses weren’t even stopping at the center and of course the health department kept telling her it needed to be 10 days in quarantine. So basically I have two more days off of work for no reason. I swear I need everyone to be on the same page with these guidelines.

Since we are officially out of quarantine, I was able to get A into the dentist because he has permanent teeth growing in behind his baby teeth. Now he gets to have three teeth extracted to make room. He’ll be sedated and everything. My ex will have to take him to that appointment since I’ve pretty much used up all my time with this quarantine! Unfortunately couldn’t get him scheduled until next month.

After the dentist, I took A to Target for the heck of it. He wanted to buy a wallet to hold his money which I agreed to since his birthday is next month and would more than likely be receiving some money. We get inside and he always asks this when we go to the grocery, “How much do we have to get?” “Son, I don’t know. It’s Target so that’s a problem.”

We walk around and find the kids wallets. He picks a Minecraft one. I browse the clearance kids clothes and found a shirt for him. He picked out a hoodie he wanted for his birthday. A Minecraft Creeper one of course. We eventually end up in the Halloween section which was great because the boys both needed new candy buckets. He tried to pick out one that lit up. I immediately shut that down. No way I’m paying $15 for a candy bucket when there are $1 options right beside it. Then right at the back of the Halloween stuff, there was Christmas things out. I point it out to A and he said, “Mom! Can we do Halloween Christmas?!” And I have to tell you, I don’t hate the idea. I would be that house on the block with Christmas and Halloween decorations up at the same time. My two favorite holidays.

A has already picked out his costume for this year. He wants to be DJ Marshmello. Which is very convenient for me because B was that a couple of years ago, so I don’t have to make anything. It’s already here. I haven’t asked B if he wants to be anything. He’s very much into anime and last year wanted to be an anime character. I ended up being able to put one together but it wasn’t easy! I’m a little afraid to ask who he wants to be because he would be putting my skills to the test. I love making their Halloween costumes though. It’s the best part for me.

That’s all for now. One more day at home with A and then the boys go to their dad’s for the weekend.

Merry Halloween Christmas!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.