Meeting Dakota in The View from the Terrace

  • Sept. 9, 2021, 8:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

On August bank holiday Monday Hubby and I got to meet our new granddaughter for the first time. She had spent 5 weeks in the Special Care unit so it has been a long wait. My response on seeing her asleep in her Moses basket was, “Isn’t she tiny!” but then Justeen said her weight was up to 6.6 pounds and I realised that she was only a few ounces lighter than Chris who was 6.12 when he was born ; it was me who hadn’t seen a newborn for a very long time.

We stayed the afternoon and I held her for most of that time. Hubby held her too but kept giving her back to me. I think he was nervous. She still had a feeding tube in because she was not taking enough on her own. They are giving her breast milk in a bottle for now as she has difficulty taking the breast but will suck from a bottle with lots of encouragement. I was asked if I wanted to feed her, they didn’t have to ask twice! Justeen was disappointed about not being able to breast feed. I told her not to feel bad, the important thing is the baby is getting her nourishment, things don’t always go the ideal way. I had big problems feeding Chris and allowed myself to get very upset which I regret.

Dakota is a very relaxed baby, like her daddy. I used to call him my little angel baby because he almost never cried. I think her hair is going to be red like her mummy’s and my granddad’s and her eyes are quite a deep blue for a newborn. It was wonderful to meet her at last.
alt text
alt text

I was home for 3 days so, the day after our visit, we went to Hay on Wye for the afternoon and I had an enjoyable time going around the bookshops. I found 2 great local history books, one on Staffordshire, where a lot of my family come from and one on Shropshire, my home county. I also bought a beautiful anthology of A E Housman’s poems with descriptions of the landscapes that inspired them. Housman is my favourite poet.

After a cool August we are now enjoying another heat wave. Louise and I have been planting pansies to provide colour for the autumn and winter.


Jinn September 09, 2021

Congratulations on your beautiful grand daughter. !!

Marg September 10, 2021

Oh goodness she IS tiny! Just adorable though - it must have felt so good to hold her at last and give her a cuddle! So glad she’s doing so well :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.