Otherworld in Nerd life

  • Sept. 8, 2021, 6:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have vague memories of watching this sci-fi show about androids back in the mid-1980s and I’ve been googling it for years, struggling to put a name to it based on my extremely cloudly early-childhood memories. Now, I’ve finally found it! I’ve finally found a name for the show, and I’ve found the first episode on YouTube! YES!!!!

I literally came out of the womb loving science fiction – no exaggeration at all. I can remember being so young and loving sci-fi. I used to watch sci-fi with my dad all the time, and he used to watch loads of grown-up sci-fi for grownups (I vaguely also recall “Alien” and “V” - not certain I’d let young children watch those, but OK!) He started watching Star Trek: The Next Generation when it first came on, and I joined in, and the rest is history – Star Trek was an important formative piece of my entire soul, and the characters in Star Trek feel like dear old uncles of mine, and Star Trek had a hand in building my entire value system.

Anyway, I’ve always loved science fiction. I was 5 when Otherworld was on, and it’s quite different to watch at 41 – not at all really what I remember, I didn’t comprehend the plot at all when I was five-years-old, but I’m glad to have found it so I can watch it again!!


I also want to comment how much I’ve enjoyed the “Loki” and “What if?” Marvel shows. Not only is Loki’s story arc and relationship with Sylvie so sweet and wholesome, but I also love those space/time continuum / multiple realities/ types of stories.


Last updated September 08, 2021


Timmy™ September 08, 2021

I have two Star Trek tattoos and am a walking Memory Alpha. Random trivia: George Murdock played Admiral Hanson on TNG during Best of Both Worlds. In Star Trek V, what role did he play? : D

Ellen Ripley Timmy™ ⋅ September 08, 2021

Mark Lenard was in this Otherworld programme I'm currently watching on YouTube and I was chuffed to see "Sarek" where I didn't expect!

"Best of Both worlds" is one of my Top 5 Favourite All Time episodes of TNG

I think he was "God" in Star Trek V?

Timmy™ Ellen Ripley ⋅ September 08, 2021

:: slow claps it out ::

I know not to gatekeep, but nicely done! Maybe someday I'll memorize every roll Jeffrey Combs has had, but there's a point of diminishing returns with trivia. I like sometimes being surprised, all "Wait, is that such and such?" rather than knowing EVERYTHING.

RomanTurtle September 08, 2021

I hate it when I want to find something but don't have quite enough memories about it. Glad you found it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.