Season(s) Over in Everything Else

  • May 14, 2014, 3:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For years I looked forward to the last two weeks of September, specifically the Monday after the Emmy’s. That is when the television “season” officially begins. Then once mid-April would hit, I would count down the days until the last finale aired. The last few years, it has seemed less and less exciting and more of a chore. Kind of like college; I was always excited for the beginning of the semester, but after Thanksgiving/Spring Break I was ready to just be done. I no longer cared about anything but freedom. I am counting down the hours to Thursday night. After Thursday, there are only a few finales left, why is that NBC? Why could you not run all the finales in the same week? Same for you ABC…running Modern Family two weeks instead of one super-sized finale…sigh.

Tonight the hockey season ended…at least as far as I am concerned. Sure I will still watch the semi & finals, but not as closely as I would have, had my team not have choked…again. I have some thoughts and a draft working right now that will come later in June…I have to see how things turn out, you know, see if I have Nostradamus like tendencies. But still, my team had a 3-1 series lead and blows three games in a row. How is that possible? How does a coach give them the day off or hold optional skates after each loss? It is like there is no consequence for sucking. Twitter is amuck with excuses and speculation. I will be muting a whole bunch of people for the summer. Not only because of the rampant speculation, “this is what I would do”, but also because a lot of them go on and on about “football”…you know the non-American kind. I have zero clue or interest about that. Any sport that has their clock count up instead of down, cannot be trusted.

I am so upset that there is only one more season of Glee. Upset in that this was not the last season. How can a show go from, fresh & funny to overplayed & pointless in just a few years? I stopped watching after season two…I think. I still check out the music on iTunes because they had some good covers. They did manage to ruin the Grease soundtrack…assholes. The last couple of years has been show tunes and totally bummer songs. So many characters I just can’t stand on that show. So very many.

I went to everyone’s favorite overpriced online store, Etsy, to snag some super overpriced yarn, only to find out that the shop does not sell single skeins through their store, you have to pre-order them on their Ravelry group and their August pre-sale items are gone. It is May 13th and their August “stock” is sold out…how does that happen? Also, they should shut down their Etsy shop if they are not going to stock it. There is nothing more frustrating than going to a shop and there is nothing for sale. Why advertise that you have a shop if you don’t stock it? Oh and those people that take two weeks off every month? What the hell?

On the subject of yarn, I think that if I spend in excess of $60 on the specific yarn that is called for in a pattern, I should get the pattern for free. $60 plus $6 for the pattern? Thanks, I’ll just knit something else.

If you ever want to torture yourself, head on over to YouTube and watch fifteen random “planner or Filofax” videos, it does two things; first, you suffer and second, you realize that no matter how pathetic your life seems, watching 20-50 year old women drone on about their five planner system makes your life look like a Hollywood A-lister. That is how I made myself work today. I tuned up a playlist and told myself I could not turn it off until I got all the little shitty things I hate to do done. So much got done this afternoon.

Is there anything worse than catching someone in a bold-face lie and not being able to share it with someone? Well you know besides disease and hatred. That happened to me late last week. Actually with this particular person, it happens on a pretty consistent basis but my confidant left and so I am left sitting on this pile without any use for it.

It takes all I have sometimes from posting my thoughts on certain hot topic issues on Facebook. The only thing that stops me is this little siren inside my head that screams “Shit Storm Approaching, Take Cover”. If there is one thing I have learned in all my years on the internet (and I have been around from the beginning) is to never talk politics and hot button issues…no matter your stance, no matter how right you are, no matter what logical argument you make, someone will always twist your words and you will still be getting hate mail years after. Nobody ever wins.

You know how you always hear those stories about someone losing their job because of their facebook posts? I keep wondering how long that takes to happen, because a “friend” of mine is constantly ragging on her job and I just can’t imagine that a large company like that doesn’t have some internet trolls out there looking for stuff.

Oh crap. I missed the only show I planned on watching tonight. I guess I will go channel surf until bed time. Anything to put off doing anymore work.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.