Quarantine day 2 in The day to day

  • Sept. 4, 2021, 6:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not a lot to report. Took B to school this morning. Came back and A and I started our day. His first NTI class wasn’t until 10 am. He mostly played on the laptop until his first class. Once his first class time came, I had to keep getting on him because he wants to show off for the others on camera instead of listening to the teacher. Putting a Spider-man mask on, putting a Fortnite character mask on, putting a Marshmello mask on. I ended up turning our camera off so he had to just sit and listen. Doing school work at home is definitely too much of a distraction for him.

The school nurse called to check on A and explain the quarantine stuff to us. I wasn’t sure what the school rules were actually, since he was being quarantined because of being exposed to two people at daycare where I work. She said on day 5 he can get a test and as long as it’s negative he can return to school.

Then my boss calls and was telling me she met with the owners yesterday and that I was getting a $1.75 raise and being put back on salary. Best news ever. Meaning since I’m off work right now I’m still going to get a paycheck next week. Thank goodness because I was going to call today and find out if there were funds somewhere given to those who were made to quarantine. She goes on to tell me all the calls from the school she was getting while she was at work yesterday. I work at the daycare where we had two cases and have had to shut down. Our first cases since being back open in June of last year. The school said one of the parents told them they weren’t informed their child had been exposed. Those parents were lying out of their asses. We handed each parent a notice as soon as we found out and it specifically said if you were handed this notice your child was exposed to the person/s who tested positive. At that time we only knew of one positive, later that night we learned of the second.

She ripped the school too for not informing the parents of the kids that rode the bus with the kid that had tested positive. Every single one of those kids who ride that bus with them returned to us that same day. They are supposed to have assigned seats on the bus so they can contact trace. Not to mention, they all stand up at the same time to get off the bus and walk by everyone as they exit! So frustrating. She said the person who works for the health department and coordinates with the school on the contact tracing was appalled when she told her and said someone would definitely be reprimanded for not doing their job properly.

So far A isn’t showing any new symptoms. He’s still coughing some from the croup, but I guess on day 5 if he hasn’t shown any new symptoms I will get him tested. My boss said though for our work that the health department says we can get tested on day 5 but still can’t return until day 8. It’s a little nutty the school isn’t following the same protocol.

Hopefully we will all stay well.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.