A source of light in a troubled world in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Sept. 2, 2021, 5:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday’s headlines and news were so awful: 1,00,000 left without power in the New Orleans area afterHurricane Ida blew through: a massive California wildfire threatens to consume towns in the Lake Tahoe area; a continuing heat wave in St. Petersburg Russia; a 1972 Club of Rome Report re-visited which predicts the collapse of civilization. How much worse csn it get? Am I the only one freaking out about all this? It’s all real and happening now, not in 2030 or 2040. My brother and sister don’r want to talk about it. I’m “doom scrolling” news stories on my phone as never before. I can’t seem to turn away.

To the rescue this week: an astonishing new version of one of Christisnity’s most sacred songs, “Ave Maria” has been released by Dimash Qudaibergena, and once again his voice has deeply stirred my soul and lifted me out of my depressed state.

An opera singer and vocal coach expressed my sentiment exactly at the conclusion of her YouTube reaction to Dimash’s new video:

a world where so much goes wrong, I love how musically so much goes right. I’m so grateful for an escape that’s so life-giving and soul washing. [His singing] feels like a [cleansing], a healing, a purification, moments of sheer beauty in a world that is so full of strife and pain, chaos wnd hurt right now.

So Dimash, thank you so much for being beyond an annointed man. Thank you for being a source of light and happiness, a source of joy in a world that needs more of that.

And this:


Last updated September 02, 2021


mcbee September 02, 2021

Gorgeous voice. The anti-doom scrolling antidote.

Oswego mcbee ⋅ September 02, 2021

Yes!!!

Marg September 08, 2021

His voice would certainly take your mind off the awful state we’ve got ourselves into!

ConnieK September 08, 2021

Beauty always triumphs.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ September 11, 2021

“Beauty is truth!”

Jinn September 11, 2021

I love the “ Stranger”

Oswego Jinn ⋅ September 12, 2021

It’s a powerhouse!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.