Finally, an entry not about my ex... in The day to day

  • Aug. 31, 2021, 9:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sitting here unable to sleep as I listen to A wheeze as he breathes and sleeps. Earlier this evening, he said he was cold and I could hear a slight wheeze as he breathed. I took his temperature and got a reading of 100.3, but I’m not sure how well he kept the thermometer under his tongue. He was playing still and seemed pretty normal otherwise. We went to bed and I was hoping he would be a little better. Cut to 2 am, when he wakes up coughing and saying he can’t breathe. That he wants to get some medicine. I try to take his temp first, but he’s coughing a lot so the best reading was 99.3. Again not sure how accurate it is. We go to the kitchen to get some medicine and he keeps coughing. I could tell maybe he had some flehm that needed to come out, so I told him if he needed to cough something up he could and spit it in the sink. He did. I gave him medicine and then he proceeded to throw up.

He tried to go back into his bed and couldn’t seem to get comfortable. He slept for a little but then woke up wheezing more and coughing. He wanted to come sleep with me. He’s in my bed and I am sitting here just listening to him. I’ve been awake for over and hour and a half. I sent a text to my boss to let her know what was going on since I am the opener at work today. I didn’t get a response. Not sure if she saw it and went back to sleep or didn’t get it at all. Either way I guess I will be trekking it to work with a sick kid until she gets there.

The obvious has me worried. Today we learned an infant at our center tested positive for COVID. So we had to go about quarantining that whole side. Luckily, we are located in a strip mall and the nursery side is in a separate building. HOWEVER, my co-worker and other assistant director has been feeling sick since at least Thursday of last week. She thought it was allergies or something of the like. But yesterday when she came in she said she couldn’t keep anything down all weekend. The first thing my son did yesterday morning when he saw her was give her a big hug. Myself and her are all over the building. We rotate which sides we give breaks on daily. Meaning she was exposed to the infant that has COVID, she could now have it and possibly transmitted it to A.

Myself and one other person at my work are the only ones that are vaccinated. I have tried to educate and break down rumors about the vaccine to encourage others to get vaccinated to no avail.

I’ll be calling the pediatrician as soon as they open to get him checked out and tested for COVID. The schools here send me a notice DAILY about someone in the school testing positive and they contact those who were around said person so they can quarantine. The state legislature here did something stupid and made it so the schools here only have 10 NTI days to use for the entire year. It’s completely ridiculous. I understand that kids need interaction and learn best in person. Trust me. I was excited for my kids to start school. B has already been exposed and was told to quarantine, but since he was vaccinated didn’t have to unless he started showing symptoms. His school sends me an email every day saying SEVERAL individuals have tested positive. Do they really think they can continue the school year like this and put kids at risk?

State leaders have got to put the bullshit politics aside and realize these are kids lives in danger. Hell I would be thrilled if they could do a hybrid schedule like they did at the end of the school year here in the spring. At least less kids would be in person at a time. There was a virtual school option here to sign up for at the beginning of this school year but there’s now a waiting list with like 2000 kids on it. So there’s no point in signing up for that.

Having lost one child already to a disease that we couldn’t fight, I’m not ready to lose another one to something that could have been prevented if people would get vaccinated and leaders would make the right decisions for the good of the people. I hope that what I’ve read about possible approval for 5 to 12 yr olds getting vaccinated by the end of Fall season is true, because A will be first in line to get his shot.

I’m going to go try and get another hour or so of sleep before I have to wake up and go to work. Here’s hoping my boss is there when we open so I can leave straight away. If A does have COVID, I wouldn’t want him there infecting more kids. If he does have it, or my coworker does the whole center will have to quarantine.

Update: A doesn’t have COVID. Thank goodness. He has croup. Got a dose of a steroid in him and hopefully will be good enough to go to school tomorrow. If not, his dad will watch him for me so I can go to work. Coworkers can’t get tested for COVID until tomorrow so we may still end up needing to quarantine if any of them end up positive. We’ll see. I hope the day wasn’t too horrible for my boss. I hate that I had to miss when so many staff were out.


Last updated August 31, 2021


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.