Time keeps flowing... in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 28, 2021, 5:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Time keeps flowing, like a river, to the sea…

Alan Parsons Project

Inside myself is a place where I live all alone and that’s where you renew your springs that never dry up.

Pearl S. Buck

As I sit beside the ocean this afternoon, listening to the timeless sounds of waves crashing onshore as high tide retreats, I think once again about the many summers going back more than 50 years that I have spent at this beach, at this same spot. Alone with my thoughts, of course, but not lonely or sad this evening.

It’s late summer, the sea breeze is cool, and I am utterly relaxed. Quite a contrast to the fast-pace of the week gone by with its worries and concerns, terrible climate and weather news, and constant reminders of mortality and the passage of time. They seem inescapable now that I have reached a certain age. And, of course, always foremost on my mind these days are the huge changes ahead as I prepare to reluctantly move from the house where I live now and where I cared for my mother in her last years, downtown in a beautiful city in a leafy old residential neighborhood. During this long and seemingly endless pandemic, I’ve had abundant time to cherish the memories of Mom and so many family gatherings over the years. Now as I unwind and listen to the waves, I am reminded that nothing really changes here by the ocean. Time seems to stand still. Only the moment matters.

These photos were taken in the past week or so:

An afternoon at the beach:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/4852w5


mcbee August 28, 2021

Awesome pictures.

ConnieK August 28, 2021

The ocean waves calm and the salt air clears the brain.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ August 29, 2021

Very therapeutic! 😌

Deleted user August 29, 2021

Just the kind of photos I needed to see before hitting the hay. Gorgeous!

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ August 29, 2021

Thank you. I particularly love those marsh sunsets. 😌

Sabrina-Belle August 30, 2021

Beautiful photos. I love the one of the flying birds, are they pelicans?

Oswego Sabrina-Belle ⋅ August 30, 2021

Thank you!

Yes! There are so many of them. So graceful and majestic in flight! They are icons of our beach!

Sabrina-Belle Oswego ⋅ August 30, 2021

We don't have them over here. I saw them on a visit to California, they are amazing.

Ragdolls August 30, 2021

Enjoyed seeing all the photos. So calming in a world gone crazy. Watching the movement of water is so soothing.

Oswego Ragdolls ⋅ August 31, 2021

Thank you! I so agree.

Marg September 08, 2021

It all looks so peaceful!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.