More Than a Feeling in General

  • Aug. 27, 2021, 9:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

More Than a Feeling

It’s more than a feeling
When I hear that old song they used to play
And I begin dreaming
‘Til I see Marianne walk away
I see my Marianne walking away…

I got up this morning, needing to get ready for my appointment to get my car inspection (Maine State Extortion) sticker.
I didn’t watch the news because the news just pisses me off. I will leave it at that.
I read the first few pages “The Five People You Will Meet in Heaven.”
I am in the process of getting rid of a lot of things, one of things I have a lot of is books.
Carefully filling boxes, I do the “Does this bring me joy” crapshoot. I’m boxing a lot of boxes.

40 Minutes at Darling Ford, previously Yankee Ford, previously Tucker Ford, previously Brunswick Ford and out the door I went. They were cutting the grass, and I just smiled. It was 80 degrees, 50% humidity and a perfect beach day.

Usually when I drive, which is not often, I listen to Audible. I am on a Bosch tear – now up to book 4, “The Last Coyote.”

But when I go to the beach. Scroll through the iPod to the B’s, find Boston and hit play.

Pretty much every stanza I crank it another 10 on my superdooper car entertainment center.
By the time “As clear as the sun in the summer sky” I am up to 30.

I found myself wondering who Marianne was.

Then I remembered that one day when I dropped Mireya off at Audrey’s, and I had brought her a coffee from Dunkin’s – light cream, no sugar.

As I was backing out of the drive she came out and waved. She was wearing tight jeans and a tee shirt. This was at 7am.

She reached behind her and pulled the t-shirt close to her breasts, wiggled then turned around, shook her ass and headed back into the house.

Apparently she was my Marianne, the one I can’t forget.

This song was released in 1976. At the time I was 14, she was 12.

When I’m tired and thinking cold
I hide in my music, forget the day
And dream of a girl I used to know
I closed my eyes and she slipped away…,/i>


Last updated August 27, 2021


Deleted user August 27, 2021

I absolutely love that song! It's pure magic.

Kristi1971 August 27, 2021

Awww I went to school with Jeff Neil!

Jinn September 12, 2021

It’s a good song :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.