First Car in Answered Prayers

  • Aug. 25, 2021, 12:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am in my late thirties and have ever held a driver’s license. I simply haven’t had any motivation to drive, mainly because I don’t believe I can do it but also because of many traumatic experiences in cars, including surviving several accidents as a passenger.

Two years ago, a woman wanted to give me a car. She asked me to call the local driving school to enquire about classes and drove me around in the car a few times. It made awful screeching sounds which she blamed on the rain…even when it wasn’t raining. She then went on vacation and upon her return asked if I had enrolled for classes at the driving school. But driving wasn’t a priority for me and after I told her exactly that, she was furious! She told me that I would always be a victim, and that I couldn’t even perceive a blessing when it was sitting right in front of me. But her car did not feel like a blessing; it felt like an evil curse.

Fast-forward two years later. I had gone eight straight months without singing in the worship band at church because finding rides to and from practice had become such a hassle. I began to pray whether or not God wants me to drive. I asked Him to be very obvious about it so that there could be no doubt in my mind that He is telling me to learn to drive.

Then, out of seemingly no where, my mother bought me a car! My very own first car, a 2018 Ford Escape in gold! It was absolutely unprecedented. My mother and I are not close and she isn’t wealthy by any means, but she’d just come into some money from an uncle who passed last year, and she’d heard about my need for transportation and wanted to gift me a car for Christmas. She had NEVER BEFORE done anything like that, and we are NOT close, so it was both strange and unexpected – just the way God often responds when He has a point to make.

Well, I’ve heard him loud and clear. It’s time to enroll in driving classes!


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.