Moving on with sadness and love in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 24, 2021, 4:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been living in pandemic bubble for the past year and a half, a little solitary dream world of doing exactly what I wanted, keeping safe and isolated until the vaccine came along this Spring, and putting off literally everything. No more.

The past few days, for example. My sister and I have been extremely emotional as the long-awaited day arrived for going through Mom’s closet, cabinets and chests of drawers. Mom passed away in January 2020, and it was evident just a month later that all our lives were going to be upended with the Covid pandemic. All plans were put on hold, including the memorial service. My sister is here from Seattle. They were very close as only mothers and daughters can be. She’s spent hours going through Mom’s personal belongings, often in tears yesterday morning as she went through her clothes.

I put aside for myself a number of things that I knew Mom loved and some things that reminded me of her so poignantly during those last ten years I was taking care of her, things no one else would think held any significance other than that they belonged to her..

My sister found a lot of the birthday and Mother’s Day cards I had given her over the years. I remember how I’d go to the nearby Hallmark Card Shop and look over the cards a week or so before Mother’s Day, poring over perhaps a dozen or more cards, reading inscriptions/poems over and over again until I felt satisfied that I had found just the right one.

Mom loved gardens and gardening. My favorite card is on that subject. Back in 2008, there was this: “A mother’s love is a beautiful garden, nurtured with love and caring.” Inside the card, it read:

My mother kept a garden
A garden of the heart,
She planted all the good things
That gave my life its start
She turned me to the sunshine
And encouraged me to dream…

I am my mother’s garden
I am her legacy
And I hope today she feels the love
Reflected back from me.

The most difficult thing of all will be when I leave this beautiful house in our historic district for the last time. We will be selling it soon, and I will be moving to an apartment. Mom was so happy in this house where she remained until the end. It is almost unbearable to think we will have to sell it.

I gave her that card just two years before it became necessary for me to move in and live here to take care of her full time as her dementia got progressively worse, year after year.

We also found her 1941 high school yearbook. I had seen it once before decades ago when we lived in New Orleans. It was her senior year. For some reason, though, I didn’t notice or forgot that she was editor-in-chief of the yearbook. That really affected me deeply because the best experience I had in high school, 28 years later, was serving as a section editor on my own yearbook staff in 1969.

What a week it’s been. I’ve experienced a range of emotions, from pride and happiness at having had such a mother, to renewed feelings of loss, sadness and depression in the mornings when I wake up and realize how much has changed. It’s hard to acknowledge it’s finally time to move on, even as I’m so comfortable in her house, and that is what it will always be, not mine or my siblings,’ or the new owner, because her spirit will always reside here and in her beautiful garden.


Jinn August 24, 2021

It’s sad you have to leave. It’s a shame you could not keep it.

Newzlady August 24, 2021

Bittersweet, for sure.

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ August 24, 2021

Sadly, yes.

ConnieK August 24, 2021

You can always go back in your memories.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ August 24, 2021

Wise words indeed because memories are very important to me.

Marg August 25, 2021

That’s an awful job and I hate that you’re not getting as much time to do it as you want. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree though - it’s very clear you’ve inherited your mother’s love of nature and she will live on in your memory every time you see a magnificent bloom or beautiful garden :) Interesting that she edited the Yearbook - did she do anything else of a journalistic nature?

Oswego Marg ⋅ August 25, 2021

Thank you! That is so true. When I see a beautiful flower or garden I know she would love it, too.

Deleted user August 25, 2021

I can relate. My sisters and I went through something similar after my mother died and we sold the house. It's like selling home plate. When I moved back to Long Island seven years later, I drove by. Do yourself a favor: Don't do that, at least not until you are happy in your new place and have processed all of it, because the new owners may change things and seeing the changes can be painful.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ August 25, 2021

Such good advice! Thank you! I thoughtvto mysrlfcthe oger night about what it would be like to drive by the house months from now after new owners had moved in. It gave me a strange and disorienting feeling, as if I would feel compelled out of curiosity to see the home place again, but as I drove away I’d I’d feel a vert deep and anguished pang of loss.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.