greetings from Bedlam in shiny things

  • Aug. 17, 2021, 9:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is just remarkably difficult getting used to being back on campus again after working remotely since March of 2020. The noise alone is driving me completely over the edge. ( And OMG, as I was writing that.... the fire alarms went off. And we had to go stand outside in the rain for 20 minutes or so. AND as we were standing there, out in the open with the rain pouring down, we all got notifications about a tornado warning!!! So, thank you for illustrating my point so nicely, Universe!)

Other than the fire alarms, and the tornados which happily have not manifested - yet- there are chairs shrieking in the neighboring classrooms as people move them around with each class period, there are perpetual sirens outside, (we are near an ambulance … hanger? Whatever they call the place where they keep them on standby) (and the street we’re on has a 25 mph speed limit so of course there are people getting pulled over multiple times a day). There are car alarms - one went off three times this morning, for at least five minutes each time. There are non-stop vehicles who rattle the windows with their ridiculously loud engines (apparently that is a thing now, it is EVERYWHERE and it’s not just because I’ve become a cranky ancient crone who wants all you damn kids out of my auditory space) as well as ridiculously loud sound systems also rattling my windows. There are the swarming students clustering in the hallway right outside our offices - and I won’t even mention the annoyance of the ones who sit in the floor with their legs stretched out ready to be tripped over. Or stand right in the doorway staring at their phones. Okay, I will mention it. AND of course I can hear everyone in the other four offices in our little cluster, although at least that’s mostly very muffled and none of us are noisy people.

I have resorted to Youtube videos of rain/fans/assorted white noise, which helps a bit. But I’d much rather bitch about having to be back on campus dealing with the noise and fighting the traffic and the zombies staring at their phones and walking straight into me- or in front of my car if I’m coming through the parking lot - and all the other stuff that I did not have to deal with while working from my living room table, WAAAAHHHHHH!!!!

Boy I loved working remotely. And I won’t be a bit surprised if we end up there again. Like everywhere else, covid cases here have skyrocketed in the past few weeks. And now the students are back, joining what seems to be half of the population of Florida, a state which isn’t exactly being a shining example of how to fight a pandemic. Our town reinstated a mask mandate last week, so hooray, we’re back to masks while indoors. Thanks, antivaxers and antimaskers, who are generally one and the same! Good work!

Agghhhh. At least if we go back to working remotely it will help offset the great annoyance/disappointment of not ever getting to go anywhere ever again for the rest of my life. I’ve been nagging Baker B to go to Charleston this summer, while we still have a chance, and he’s just not going for it. He’s had issues with neck pain since he was in college, and it’s been a little worse lately, so he doesn’t want to go to a place where all we do is walk on pavement for miles. And stop for shrimp and beer, then walk on pavement again for more miles. Which I do understand, and he finally, FINALLY went to the doctor several weeks ago to get it checked out. The doctor says it’s probably mostly arthritis (yay, aging!) but is also sending him to physical therapy once a week to see if that will help. Of course it took forever to get the appointment but his first one was last week and it actually did seem to help. So I kind of thought that maybe, maybe he’d agree to a few days in Charleston.... but no!! It isn’t totally cured yet.

He is not nearly as unraveled by this as I am. He is not a good traveler and although he loves Charleston, it’s like pulling teeth to get him to go anywhere at all out of his comfort zone, which is… pretty much right here. Especially after the VERY long vacationless stretch we’ve had. We didn’t go anywhere for ages even in the Before Times due to his mom and my dad having multiple crises. I had to go by myself to my cousin’s daughter’s wedding three years ago because his mom had just fallen and he needed to stay close by. We went to Charleston for two nights two years ago to buy the New Fit (which was fun but also really stressful, as we were buying a car), and spent… one night I think in Bluefield West Virginia, also two years ago. Before that it was Christmas of 2017 in Charleston!!

No wonder I feel deprived. I actually was going to go to Charleston with Kim this summer if he wouldn’t go, but she’s very rudely thrown me over for another friend, who is not obviously making her the Alternate Choice who has to wait to see if someone else will make up his mind about whether he will go or not. How thoughtless of her. I would also happily go by myself, but I do have plans to go visit my cousins in Delaware in early October, so that’s my trip. I hope. I forked over the extra money for a refundable plane ticket since things are looking grimmer daily. That’s just a long weekend but will be lots of fun. If it actually happens.

Baker B thinks I need to quit whining because we DO have a trip planned, as of last night. And we’ve had two other trips to this same place during Covid Times, so I need to also stop saying we never get to go anywhere! We’re going to Beech Mountain, which is like half an hour from where we live. And a place where we often take day trips. We did this last October for four nights, and again in April for four nights. SO, we’re doing it for another four nights at the end of September! And… it is better than nothing. It’s actually worked really well because we get an Airbnb and while he hikes all day (that is his thing and it’s especially his thing up there) I use it for a writing retreat. And both the other times he only stayed there one night so I got a mini-vacation by myself which was great. But the downside is there is seriously NOTHING to do up there, other than hike. Which is why it’s a really great place for a writing retreat - no distractions aside from nice long walks! It’s mainly a ski resort area so in the off season most restaurants and bars are closed (not that there are many to start with) and there’s one general store called Freds that’s fun and an icon but is still not enough to occupy you for four days. Or even half an hour. That is, seriously, pretty much it. Everyone drives to our town for entertainment. Obviously there are also no crowds so it’s an excellent Pandemic Days Getaway. I did not think I wanted to do this again at all, but…okay, if I can’t go anywhere else other than maybe a long weekend in Delaware, fine. It’s starting to sound pretty good.

And this whiny entry has gone on WAY too long. Next time I will discuss why I am taking all these writing retreats, and also post some pictures of the Van Gogh exhibit I went to a month ago, which is more proof that HAVE actually been SOMEWHERE lately.


ermentrude August 18, 2021

The lack of travel is really getting me down too. Although we’re allowed to go, our financial situation has been seriously hammered by covid AND I don’t want to go on a plane right now!! X

edna million ermentrude ⋅ August 18, 2021

I actually still have credit for a plane ticket I bought to go to a work conference about five minutes before the pandemic hit - I'd hung onto it instead of getting reimbursed by my employer hoping to use it later - or it would have been way too pricey. And yeah, planes sound like a worse idea every day. SIGH. I'll probably end up just having to cancel.

Marg August 18, 2021

Oh all these noises would drive me to distraction as well - I would find it so hard to concentrate. I think a lot of folk are getting antsy about going anywhere other than where they are RIGHT NOW lol but I don’t suppose it would be a lot of fun for Baker B if he was in pain most of the time. Here’s hoping a few more sessions of physio will make him a bit more amenable to going to Charleston!

edna million Marg ⋅ August 18, 2021

Yeah, he's a nervous unhappy traveler when he's at his best (well, except for when we went to England and he was... NORMAL and loved it), so I definitely don't want him going if he's not at his best. I think the PT will really help, though.

Marg edna million ⋅ August 19, 2021

I remember you writing about that - it was so weird!

edna million Marg ⋅ August 19, 2021

lol, it REALLY was!!! It was like a calm, collected, not-at-all-neurotic alien took him over. He had several stressful things happen - like a flat tire while he was out in the country by himself - and handled everything like a ....normal person. And all he lost was a cap, when normally he can't walk across the living room without losing everything he touches. I TOTALLY expected him to be the one to lose his passport, and it was poor Kim.

Marg edna million ⋅ August 19, 2021

God yes I remember that as well - what a nightmare! And her case from Hell!! Well see - it just confirms you guys are obviously meant to be in GB - clearly Baker B recognised he was 'home' lol! :)

IpsoFacto August 18, 2021

I was so pleased to see the entry from you. It was packed full of images I could see actually see in my mind. I understand completely about the noise thing. I’m so used to being home that when we go anywhere I am acutely aware of background noise. I hope you’ll get some kind of a vacation very soon. My husband is really no longer up to travel whether he realizes it or not and I feel very confined. I’m used to going to England and Europe every year and we have not been for the last two years. Trying to be optimistic I have renewed my passport is expired.I’ve been waiting almost 2 months where to be returned to me from processing in Texas. So, I guess it’s a good thing husband can’t travel because I have no way to go anywhere. Oh that was to say I entirely understand everything you said.

edna million IpsoFacto ⋅ August 18, 2021 (edited August 18, 2021)

Edited

It's such a shame your husband is getting to where he can't travel - how sad! My mom got to that point too, and she loved traveling. And also very sad you can't make your England/Europe trips! I actually renewed my passport right when the pandemic started, thinking maybe I'd get to use it before too long and fearing there would be delays. Hahahaha!!!

noko August 18, 2021

I thought of you this morning. I was in the grocery and this completely oblivious college age young man was staring at his phone as if in a trance and I had to reach around him to get my thing...I thought of those people in your hallway as if in a trance, It would not be good to be near an ambulance hub right now either. So glad you are writing! Yay. And getting support. And yeah, a getaway sounds like it would be so good, even for a few days. Baker B. got his neck looked at was a good idea. Hope it is even better soon.

Justlovely August 19, 2021

So maybe we could meet in Charleston some time. Apparently my nephew and his wife own a home there now that they rent out, (although hubs said they seem to only want to rent it for a full month at a time, which wouldn't be something we could do.)

edna million Justlovely ⋅ August 19, 2021

Oh, that would be fun! And how lucky are they, having a home there-

Justlovely August 19, 2021

I'm so totally with you about wanting to ANYwhere for any length of time to see people and some scenery and food besides home. I'm sorry to hear Baker B has this pain. They always just say it's arthritis. Hopefully PT can help at least offer some relief. And I don't wish for any more hard lock downs. I wish they'd just decide maybe you could split your work week? It's worth considering a dialog at some point with the powers that be in your work food chain.

edna million Justlovely ⋅ August 19, 2021

Yeah, I'm kind of thinking that we'll get sent home again, since cases are rising dramatically here and we can do absolutely everything we need to remotely. I hate to HOPE that, of course, but... I do kind of hope that!

PT actually does seem to be helping - he said it felt quite a bit better last week, in that he could walk farther without it bothering him. He had a second session today, so fingers crossed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.