Doctor's appointment and some great news in The View from the Terrace

  • Aug. 21, 2021, 9:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last week I went home again for another GP appointment. I don’t like the present system. You have to speak to them first on the telephone and then go in if they need to see you. How I long for the way it used to be when seeing the doctor meant just that, you made an appointment and went in. I don’t like speaking on the telephone, never have, which sounds strange as I am a telephone volunteer, but I’m fine with that, perhaps because the focus of those calls isn’t me. I also don’t like doctor’s appointments as I’ve had bad experiences in the past, so I’m doubly stressed with these telephone appointments. You don’t know exactly when they will ring either. They give you an estimated time but I have had one ring a quarter of an hour early, I hate it when things happen early, and another over an hour late. We have come a long way from popping into the surgery and just waiting your turn like you did when I was a child.

The situation in Afghanistan is heartbreaking. Have the last 20 years all been in vain? I can’t imagine what those people are going through, especially the women. And there are all of those families of soldiers who died and the ones who are coping with life changing injuries who now feel it all happened for no purpose. I have decided that now might be the time to reread A Thousand Splendid Suns, a wonderful novel set in Afghanistan by Khaled Hosseini, one of my favourite authors. He also wrote The Kite Runner.

I had the doctor’s appointment because I’ve been suffering from nausea for several weeks. I’ve had a blood test and they found nothing wrong. The doctor thinks it is stress. He’s given me something to help with the sickness and told me I need another holiday or at least a long weekend. He is probably right but I can’t arrange anything for a few weeks. I have 2 more appointments coming up and yesterday received the news that Justeen and Dakota have been discharged from hospital so I need to go back home again as soon as possible to meet my granddaughter!


JustSurviveSomehow August 21, 2021 (edited August 21, 2021)

Edited

The Kite Runner is a wonderful book. I should try A Thousand Splendid Suns. I always do want to read amother book by that author.

That would be incredibly frustrating about the change in medical care. I just started going to the doctor and I haven't yet been told I have to schedule a phone call first or anything. But thats probably my condition more than anything.

I hope you get to meet your granddaughter real soon! What an exciting time!

Marg August 22, 2021

I’m with you on the phone appointments - also hate them. I tried to help when I had one on Thursday afternoon - wrote him a long letter the week before to explain everything and he didn’t even mention it. When he said he got it he still went “how can I help?”!😫 Interestingly though one of the things I was going for was nausea - also got a blood test and nothing showed up. I wonder if it’s stress with me as well? I have to make an appointment with the nurse for another blood test and an ECG but I don’t know how this blood test differs from the other one.
That’s great news about Justeen and Dakota!

Marg August 22, 2021

Oh meant to ask is what he gave you for the nausea working? I tried Phenergan and it didn’t seem to touch it.

Sabrina-Belle Marg ⋅ August 23, 2021

Strangely the nausea started to clear up after I had spoken with the doctor! so I haven't tried the Metoclopramide that he gave me. The pharmacist had recommended Nexium which you take daily. It did seem to help but you are not supposed to take it for more than 14 days and the nausea kept coming back when I stopped which is why I spoke to the doctor, but I've managed to stop that now. Another doctor gave me Cyclizine to take when needed which also worked and you can buy it over the counter.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ August 23, 2021

That's good to know - thanks!

Oswego August 30, 2021

Stress is the culprit in so many ailments. A change of scenery will do you good. I know it would help me!

That novel set in Afghanistan looks really good, particularly in light of what is going on now.

Jinn September 09, 2021

I know what you mean about the doctor. I don’t have a PCP so I need to go to Urgent Care today . I am dizzy most of the time and it’s gone on for over a month. Time to get it checked, I guess , but I hate the process.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.