I'm Really Not That Stupid in Hi

  • Aug. 17, 2021, 8:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Then again, I guess I am.

Sunday I got a text from my bank saying my account was on hold. Immediate fear and dread. So I followed the link to identify myself and correct the problem. (Don’t EVER do that). They asked so many questions to verify my identify and I answered them all. When I got to the end of the rabbit hole there was nothing for me to look at.

It was a hoax.

I gave them EVERYTHING. I am ashamed to tell you what all I gave them. They could go right now and do anything they want to steal my identify. We are not rich, but I do have a perfect credit rating. I’ve worked hard all my life to keep it that way and now, I just give it away,

I know better than to do this. I’m not senile yet! Or am I? I kept thinking, but it’s my bank!!
Right!!

Now I have a mess on my hands. I had to close our checking account and open a new one. All of our income and all of utilities and other payments come out automatically.

So far I have bought a membership in Lifelock. I’m trying to contact everyone. I feel so overwhelmed. My husband was remarkably understanding after the initial lecture. I am not sleeping well.

This morning I find the bank reversed two payments I made on Friday night. They were fine yesterday but not today!

Learn from me. Don’t make my mistake.


Telstar August 17, 2021

Sorry.

Hope it all works out.

Sassy August 17, 2021

i got this private note from a person on this entry, I guess she didn't think I felt bad enough.

Banks tell you from the very beginning and all over their official sites along with being included in letters and emails that they will NEVER ask for any of your information. Ever. And if you are ever asked, you are supposed to report the number, email, and/or the url to the bank themselves. They have a place on their faq or contact us area for that. I cannot comprehend how people can be so naive. I cannot tell you how many emails and texts I get from Amazon, banks I don't even have an account in, apple, Netflix, other companies I've never heard of asking for login information, and I even get the bullshit car insurance calls on a weekly basis. Not once have I been naive enough to give any information out. You can tell it's a scam because they won't even state the personal name on the account. They will always say "customer". Don't ever fall into a scam like this. Always go to the main web site's url and never click on suspicious links. This has been a well known thing since the 90s.

Satine August 18, 2021

This sucks, so scary and really hope you can get it resolved with no issues. And how unhelpful to leave a note like that, must be nice to be so perfect you have to scold others for a mistake. I am sure you’re not the only one or they wouldn’t do it!

Hope things are better soon.

Just Annie August 18, 2021

hugs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.