Mrs Dalloway/Gone Girl (REVIEWS) in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • May 12, 2014, 5:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf (Pages: 172) is the story of Clarissa Dalloway and some of her acquaintances on the day of her throwing a party. Remembrances of their past and incidents over the course of the day ensures that characters re-examine the choices they’ve made during their lives.

A quick read, and one of those “glad I read it” books. The sub plot involving Septimus and Lucrezia and their relationship was what really got to me and was perhaps the most moving aspect of this book. One of those books that I would recommend to people.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Pages: 475, including a section “Reading Group Notes”) has Nick Dunne coming home on his fifth wedding anniversary to find his wife, Amy, missing. He finds himself the prime suspect in her disappearance, with unusual searches on his computer and the disturbing news that Amy told people she was scared of him.

I finished this earlier today, it took me probably a day in total to read. (Two small reading sessions over the course of the weekend, in-between shifts at work, and this morning). I am not a hundred per cent sure that I enjoyed the ending, I can’t quite put my finger on why. I can see why people rave about Gone Girl, but the ending didn’t feel as strong as the rest of the book for me. Maybe I’m getting a little fussy nowadays. I might re-read this at some stage, but I may give Flynn’s other works a try first.


Last updated January 01, 2015


NFL Girl May 12, 2014

I loved Gone Girl. Read it when it first came out. The ending was definitely a surprise twist!

TudorRose NFL Girl ⋅ May 16, 2014

Looking back to when I finished reading it, I guess I was expecting more of a "OMG, did that just really end that way?" sort of finish. It's not a bad book on the whole though. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.