My Mother in Meeting Mr. Jesus Christ

  • May 11, 2014, 10:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo IMG_2868.jpg

This year we have come to know each other a little. Fifty-three years have passed before that began. Our times weren't always the best, most of the years we lived together were sad and ugly. Life just wasn't what mom hoped for and I was a piece of that. In spite of all that happened throughout the years before I left home at sixteen I realize in her very strange way, no matter how she went getting what she wanted, my mother always tried to have the very best for me. As a child I didn't understand how she could hate me so much. As an adult I don't understand how she could love me and at the same time hate me the way she did. I'm still not sure I understand, but I do know what I didn't then. My mother, in her own crazy way loves me.

What matters most to me now is she has had a year to see me as the woman I am, a Christian woman, and child of God. In His providential way God has put in place situations that allowed my mom to observe me actively living my Christian life. She has seen other people respond to me working in my mission field. The Christ life within me has been present, evident and active often while my mother has been with me. Though she occasionally has heard me discuss the scriptures with a few women, I don't believe it has carried the same testimony to her. It is hard to believe what you cannot see, most people look to what can be seen. And that is okay, the message is still being delivered. My mom doesn't say much beyond she is glad I found the Lord, but I see on her face the recognition and happiness that I have a relationship with my Lord.

This tells me is somewhere in her heart the seed of God was long ago planted and may be sprouting because of my witness before her. May the Living Waters keep spilling over from me. May my life be an ongoing testimony that a person can turn away from a life of abuse, anger, drugs and all the hurt and give it to the one person who can take it all and heal a lifetime of wrongs. My precious Christ, let my witness be a doorway between my mother and you.

web stats


Bird of Paradise May 12, 2014

:-)

crystal butterfly May 12, 2014

: ^ )

Deleted user May 12, 2014

Wow, I didn't get along with my mother very well either. Was life what she planned it? She'd probably tell you it was, but I'm not really sure about that. I think we all have some regrets and unplanned things thrown our way.

Oswego May 12, 2014

A moving testimony to healing and the power of love and faith.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.