Leaving a trace in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 13, 2021, 10:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I often think about some of the jobs I ‘ve had over the years, googling the names of various newspapers and organizations I have been a part of, seeing what came up, if anything much at all, and pondering a dilemma I have been trying to solve for some time now. More on that shortly.

I seem to do this a good bit now that I’m retired — recalling in quiet moments the jobs I’ve held and the people I came to know at those jobs. This takes on added significance for me because I don’t have a family of my own, and, for better or worse, the people I have worked with became, in a sense, surrgoate families. I developed, as a consequence of this, some very strong bonds and friendships with co-workers, including at my last job from which I retired in 2017. Additionally, I realize my life has definitively crossed the threshold of old age, unbelievably. In this final stage of this life, I tend to want to re-assess the good and bad of of those jobs, the towns I lived in, the employers I had, and the co-workers who became very special friends..

Not having had many close friends outside of work, my jobs have always taken on a very important role in my life. Just as a diary or journal is a record of one’s life and thoughts at particular moments in time, so, too, accomplishments on the job are a record of a period of time in one’s personal chronology.

For years, my jobs entailed reporting, writing and editing at small community newspapers. I accumulated a considerable body of published writing and photography, but unfortunately it all seems irretrievable since I didn’t save most of my clippings and writings from those days. There are folders of clippings in boxes in the closet, but it’s not like being able to see the entire newspaper. The only way to do that would be to go to the libraries and historical societies in those towns and view the newspapers in bound volumes or on microfilm. I don’t think the newspapers I worked at have had their issues digitized. I could be wrong, but they were very small newspapers, consequential only to the towns and counties they served, but which have always been integral primary sources of local history, exceedingly valuable to historians. So I’m glad I was able to leave a trace of myself there, having contributed to the written record of a few municipalities for a brief period of time.

Here’s the hard part. While the majority of my experiences in two of the towns were positive and life enhancing, I also experienced events in both places that left lasting scars emotionally. Suffice it to say, the memories are powerful enough so that after many years, I still have not been back to revisit and look at those old issues of the newspapers I worked so hard on, or to even drive around and reminisce and look at old, familiar landmarks in those towns which are only a hundred or so mules from where I’ve lived for the past 25 years. And I only lived in each place about a year and a half.

As the years continue to pass, however, I think about how I can get additional closure on those events from 30 and 40 years ago while avoiding the unnecessary dredging up of old, bad memories. A part of my life was invested in those towns and the question I pose is, “Do I need to try to further overcome my reluctance to revisit the past in those places when so much that transpired there was good and positive, or do I just let it be, leave well enough alone and rely only on the memories and clippings I have? I can’t seem to escape from those two jobs because I had yet another unsettling, recurring dream about one of them just last night.

Or, I might put it this way: How much is gained by physically returning to the places we inhabited in our pasts? What is the real purpose? I am not sure I will or can do this. I have not been back to my home town of New Orleans for more than 26 years, and after the events that transpired during and following Hurricane Katrina, I don’t know how much I want to. But it IS where I grew up, and it IS where my most primal, early memories are rooted. I do miss it very much and hope to visit there before too long.

I have to wonder if returning to the places where we once lived is actually a healthy act of catharsis, renewal and strengthening of ourselves emotionally, or, a painfully self-inflicted wound.


MageB August 13, 2021

Probably little. Let it go, as Dear Abby would say.

Oswego MageB ⋅ August 14, 2021

Alas, I wish I could just let it go, but the past has always loomed over me with outsize influence on the present. I can trace strong feelings of “nostalgia” back to my childhood, which is a bit unusual. But there was nothing usual about me for my age when I was young.

ConnieK August 13, 2021

Thomas Wolfe's words of wisdom (caution?). You will find much has changed since you were last there, which can be disorienting. I seldom revisit the town I was raised in. Many good memories, but many traumatic. Too many ghosts. When I drive through, I think even the air is stuffy.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ August 14, 2021

Yes, I agree, but when traveling back into the past I tend to place fuzzy l-warm, golden gauze over it all, downgrading the unpleasant. I can’t do that with one place yet because the unpleasant was so traumatic. That’s the place I’m really torn about because I accomplished so much there and had some experiences that taught me a lot about myself and life.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ August 14, 2021

I have no need to revisit the painful places in my past. They molded me as much as the happy memories, but I refuse to give my energy to someone else's wrongdoing. It was wrong, God and I know the truth, and the person was a pile of crap. Why give that person a place in my head and my heart? I guarantee there is no remorse on the wrongdoer's side. I tell God I'm making them invisible. :)

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ August 14, 2021

I hear you!!

Sometimes I just can’t seem to help clinging to the possibility of their redemption in my mind because life is far more nuanced and complex than totally writing off certain people snd places. But it’s been 30-40 years since I’ve been back and I think revisiting would somehow be therapeutic. But I could be very much in error about that. Lol. Who know? Life is short.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ August 14, 2021

Life is nuanced and complex but why invite the wrongdoers into your head? I see it as a mental health issue: I am stopping their memory so that they don't get my energy. I'm not "totally writing them off", either. It's a choice. I choose not to waste my precious time on people with no moral compass. The only reason I revisit is to visit my father's & brothers' graves, but just driving through the town is oppressive. I go about once a decade. If that.

Ragdolls August 13, 2021

First of all let me say how much I have enjoyed reading your entries here the past several months. They always leave me with much to think about.

About finding the old newspapers. I purchased a subscription to the online archives at newspapers.com and have been pleasantly surprised at the number of small city and town newspapers that are there. Perhaps you could purchase a trial period subscription and see if any of those newspapers that you would like to revisit are in their collection.

Looking forward to reading more from you.

Oswego Ragdolls ⋅ August 14, 2021

Thank you for the kind and supportive words. This is exactly what I hope to hear from people who read what I post here. My aim is to write memory pieces and essays that contain themes most people can relate to, and which hopefully resonate enough that they think about similar things in their own lives.

I am glad to know about newspapers.com and that it a part of Ancestry, available at many libraries. Newspapers.com is apparently not included with my library’s Ancestry subscription. I would love to have access to it, but a personal subscription is a bit pricey at this point given how few newspaper archives I’d like to access. Although primarily for genealogists, archivists and researchers, it’s a mighty enticing product for former newspaper editors such as myself. So thank you for suggesting it.

Telstar August 14, 2021

The junior college at the town where I graduated from high school has many years of the local newspaper on its website. Seems like it starts in the 1950s & goes until the 1980s or 1990s.

Very interesting to read.

Oswego Telstar ⋅ August 14, 2021

Yes, historical newspapers are fascinating. I spent an entire academic year in grad school many years ago researching through microfilm old newspapers in the state where I was living for the years 1888 and 1889.

A Pedestrian Wandering August 14, 2021

The fact that you ask the question, should I go back, is, in itself, telling. It is as if there is something calling you. You will likely never fully discharge the feelings associated with the bad things that happened, but you will see the changes that occurred and you may be reminded of some of the good that happened you may have forgotten about. About ten years after a major earthquake struck our little town, I had the chance to see some of my news photos from that time. I became physically sick to my stomach. But it passed and became something I lived through. Katrina was far longer lasting and far deadlier, so I can understand your trepidation.

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ August 14, 2021

Thankfully New Orleans has recovered well from Katrina because it is a one-of-a-kind city. Then Covid hit. I will be able to revisit when the time is right.

Very interesting that you pick up on the fact that It’s telling I even ask the question about whether to revisit certain places or not. You’re right, because of what I invested of myself there they are indeed calling me in a sense. Otherwise, why wouldn’t I just drop it altogether and move on? Again, because at this point in time I simply can’t.,

Marg August 24, 2021

I wonder if the fact that you’re still dreaming about those places/jobs is something you need to take note of - if it’s still coming up in your self-conscious after all this time maybe a bit of closure is still needed? What do you feel yourself?

Oswego Marg ⋅ August 24, 2021

That's a good question. I go back and forth about closure. In some ways, I know it’s useless to keep thinking I need closure when I probably did years ago, but I make life events into very complex dramas. I must need to keep doing this since there’s no complete answer evidently. At least for now. 🧐

Marg Oswego ⋅ August 25, 2021

I think you can still get closure many years after the event because I suppose it's not the events themselves which are the problem - it's the feelings and emotions surrounding them :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.