Friends in Vastly Intricate.

  • Aug. 10, 2021, 12:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We have different “levels” of friends in our lives. We have those who are more of acquaintances.. those who we talk to here and there on a simple level. We enjoy talking to them whenever we see them, but we aren’t super close to them. Those are our outer level friends.

Then we have the middle level friends - those who we spend a good deal of time with such as coworkers. We see them frequently and joke around with them.. but still don’t really have a deep friendship with them.

Then there’s our inner level of friends - those we are closest to.. the ones we confide in and trust with our biggest secrets. These are the ones we know will be there to encourage us and pick us up when we are down.. and those who are excited and clap with us when we are accomplishing something great.

Regardless of which “level” of friends you have.. we all need at least one. The world can be a lonely place without friends. While the outer level friends are great to have, we really need at least one close friend. I call these my “tribe.”

I’ve got some pretty great friends on different levels. I’ll give you a few examples simply because they all deserve some recognition.

Of course, my spouse is my friend. If your spouse isn’t your friend.. you’re doing something wrong. You spend a huge portion of your time with them.. so you kinda have to learn to like each other 😂

I have a couple of friends who live a little over an hour away in another state. I’ve known these two for around 16 years. We don’t see each other very often.. but we do talk on a regular basis. I could go for years without seeing them.. and when we finally get together, it’s like we picked right back up where we left off. That’s how true friendship should be. One of them.. I can confide in about almost anything. They have learned that sometimes I just need them to listen.. and other times I need direction. This person will always pray and lead me in the right direction - and will sometimes tell me what I don’t WANT to hear.. but NEED to hear - tough love.

I have a friend who is my Boss at work.. and she’s a mentor of sorts as well. She’s incredible at her job and always encourages me that I can do anything if I set my mind to it. She’s one of the most Godly women I know. She’s always studying scriptures and praying and going to church services. She truly has a heart of gold. I can confide in her about so much.. she’s always one of the first people I go to when I need someone to pray about something.. and she understands where I’m coming from concerning things we see/hear/experience at work.

I have a new friend from another country that I’ve met on here as well. I’ve enjoyed getting to know her over the past few weeks. She has a heart for children and is such a great teacher! She puts her heart into her lessons and it’s more than a “job” to her.. it’s ministry. She is loving on those kids and showing them the true love of God. It takes a special person to teach children.. and she is doing such an awesome job!

My coworkers are also my friends. We spend 80 hours a week together.. so of course they are my friends haha. It goes beyond that though. The profession we are in.. we have to have each other’s back. Our jobs connect us to so many people across the world who do the same thing - we are one big family who supports each other.

I have others.. but these are just a few. Each of my friends are unique and beautiful in their own ways. Some are on deeper levels than others. But they are all truly a blessing in my life.

I leave you with this.. Find your tribe and love them hard. While those outer level friends are great, we need inner level friends. We need that support system. Find one or two people to be part of your tribe.. and love them hard. They are truly a treasure.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.