Feels Like Tonight in Background Noise

  • Aug. 5, 2021, 9:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Feels Like Tonight

My birth certificate tells me I am 59 at 530 tomorrow morning.

I don’t have a lot of complaints. Most of the weird twingy pains from last Summer’s heart surgery have subsided. I am oddly at peace with who I have been. I know I am well into the last third of my life.

Last weekend I actually picked up Beanie McBeanerson aka my daughter Mireya - and we drove up to ‘Salem’s Lot and had a pizza party for her birthday. First time I had seen her in a year and a half.

Everything in Maine has gone back to normal, and with that come the nauseating amount of out of state traffic that clogs every highway, surface street, side road, and country road in the state. It occasionally makes me wistful for the days of the lockdown, where you could actually drive in Maine without feeling like you were on the 405 in LA.

Big plans for tomorrow include 35 sissy pushups. 50 situps. A 5 mile walk. Trip to the beach, perhaps to swim. Pickup a couple of lobsters on the way home.

I mostly listen to audiobooks when driving, lately it has been the Bosch series. I am up to “The Concrete Blonde”. Which it the third in the series. Pretty entertaining.
But tomorrow I will be rocking out all the way to the beach and back again.


gattaca August 05, 2021

Have a happy birthday young man!

Sassy August 06, 2021

Happy Birthday! I will be 65 in December! Eek!

Pintador August 06, 2021

Happy birthday! Was just thinking that it had been a long time since you’d written and then…there you were!

Jinn September 12, 2021

Happy Belated Birthday !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.