Not dead yet in 2021

  • Aug. 5, 2021, 10:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

But I’m not exactly improving either.

I went to work on Saturday, thinking I was recovering and it was time to at least attempt to get back to real life - but it was way too soon, apparently, because I was quite literally wrecked by the end of the day. I looked so bad that the circulation staff took pity on me and one of them came up to help me finish shelving because they know I’m stubborn and would have killed myself to get it done rather than leave any for the next day like my lazy coworker does.

Then I drove home, got ridiculously nauseous, and was up all night throwing up. Also, my fever came back, so that was fun.

Sunday I told my boss I wasn’t ready for my full shift on Monday, but I wanted to try to come in for part of it - so I went in from 4-8pm, and was able to go to the doctor beforehand. I’d done telemedicine with a PA the weekend previous but this was the first time I’d been in the doctor’s office and she was a little alarmed at how long this has been going on. She gave me another Covid test (still negative) and prescribed steroids and antibiotics, and told me if it doesn’t get better by the weekend I should get a chest x-ray to make sure it’s not turning into pneumonia.

Then I did my four hours at work and went home and collapsed. My boss told me to take Tuesday off too, so I’m not due back in the library until Saturday and if I’m not better by then I may just rip out my lungs and donate them to science.

At least my fever hasn’t come back, and I haven’t had any more nausea. I’m taking all my meds but not seeing the rapid improvement I was hoping for. My lungs crackle so much it sounds like I’m purring, and when I try to lie down and go to sleep I cough and cough and it fucking sucks.

Whatever this is seems to have bounced off the kids, thankfully - they were poorly for a day or two last week but raring to go by Monday, so it was off to school for them! It’s good for them to be busy, because their father and I are useless lumps. Where the cold turned into bronchitis for me, it went straight to DH’s sinuses - he got a diagnosis of sinusitis and his own fun prescriptions on Monday, though neither of us are anywhere near back to normal. I miss being able to walk up the stairs without getting out of breath.

This has to end soon, right?!


Calicakes August 05, 2021

This sounds serious. Please go to the ER if you don't feel better.

-d August 05, 2021

Ugh...I only got sick, sick like that once, and I wouldn't wish it on anyone! I hope you feel better soon!

Honor August 12, 2021

Oh maaan, I wish you better soon!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.