“And wait, there’s more” in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 1, 2021, 2:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This entry will make no sense for anyone under 60. So for the one or two of you younger people who happen read this, I’m sorry if this is baffling to you. But for those of us who grew up in the 60s and 70s, who could ever forget those zany products like “Hair in a Can,” and “Veg-O-Matic,” pitched endlessly on TV by the originator of the infomercial back in1958, Ron Popeil and his namesake company, Ronco? I haven’t seen one of his masterful pitches in many years. I didn’t even know his actual name. But there’s lots on YouTube. He passed away July 29 at age 86, truly a legend in his own time.

Popeil, according to one Internet tribute, essentially invented the popular image of the American television pitchman, whose novel products solved frustrating problems viewers didn’t know they had. He popularized much of the vernacular of late-night TV ads and infomercials, with lines like “Now how much would you pay?” and “Set it and forget it.” And let’s not forget, “And wait, there’s more!

Here are some choice YouTue I selected the other day:

Tribute to Ron

Early Ron

Later Ron

Dan Ackroyd SNL Bat-O-Matic


Last updated August 01, 2021


Lady of the Bann August 01, 2021

70 and baffled.lol

Oswego Lady of the Bann ⋅ August 01, 2021

It’s an American pop culture phenomenon! Lol

Deleted user August 01, 2021

Awww, I remember those commercials from my childhood. Rest in peace, good man.

Marg August 02, 2021

I wondered what happened to half of these gadgets? Some of them seem pretty brilliant to me! I would totally get a Chop-o-matic :)

Oswego Marg ⋅ August 02, 2021

I would agree!! If one cooks and wants to fool with all that chopping! Eeeeek!! Lol

Marg Oswego ⋅ August 08, 2021

And I don't even cook! Lol!

Newzlady August 02, 2021

Perhaps Americans under 55, because I remember! Not about to watch the clips, though. Don’t need that irritation! :). I’m surprised I don’t see more of the gadgets in estate sales, etc.

Sabrina-Belle August 02, 2021

Whatever happened to that non spill auto cup, great idea!

MageB August 02, 2021

Ah yes, I was surprised to read that he had died. Yes, we have one of those little jaars with a chopper.

Kristi1971 August 04, 2021

And don't forget all through the 80s. I saw him still going in the 90s, too. My oldest was born in 91, and I had a lot of late nights/early mornings and I'd find those sales pitches of his scrolling the TV. I soon learned about late night/early morning TV Land. Oh, now that was some good TV when my oldest was her littlest. :)

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ August 04, 2021

He was tireless and one of the greatest salespersons who ever lived.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.