Trying to grapple with the root cause of things in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • July 31, 2021, 9:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is a story that goes to the root (pardon the pun) of the problems of modern life. The cost of everything has gotten out of control, especially health care, dental work, and housing.

This is yet another cautionary tale as well as a morality tale, when you look at it in all its complex dynamics. Yes, getting a tooth extracted (or pulled as they ised to say) for the first time ever this summer has made me ponder a lot of things. And, of course, I have a huge tendency to do this and write about it so I can make more sense of it all.

So in June, I finally went back to the dentist after skipping two six-month checkups and cleanings. After I saw the look on his face after he examined my teeth following a cleaning, I knew the news was not good, but I was horrified when my dentist told me that not only did I need a root canal in one tooth but another, larger tooth was going to have to be extracted. I had felt a little pain in that tooth but nothing much. I was dumbfounded.

Long story short, I spent the next two months until last week tending to those two areas of my dental health. I have this fear of a major toothache, since my pain threshold is pretty low. But never have I had this much to deal with. I guess I’ve been lucky, but still.

The cost: Root canal and crown - $2,400. Extraction, implant and crown - $6,000. Dental insurance covered approximately $2,000 of the total $8,400. Billing to me: $6,400.

So there goes a huge whack at my retirement savings. Just like that! Pow! I now have much more empathy for people who can’t afford these outrageous costs. I was fortunate. The endodontist and oral surgeon were great. I had virtually no pain. I don’t have to go around with a hole in my mouth.

I realize endodontics and oral surgery are very specialized fields. Would you want the job of pulling people’s teeth out as they sit there rigid with anxiety or fear? But why? Why does dental work cost so much?


Last updated July 31, 2021


ConnieK August 01, 2021

Dentists have a high rate of suicide, too. The cost of dentistry IS high and dentists do make good money but there are a lot of middle men, especially for implants. It's the overhead. Liability/malpractice coverage gobbles up half of everything. Equipment is expensive and needs frequent updating. Staffing is costly (although they're cheap with their pay to their help). More than anything, though, it's insurance and the high rate of lawsuits.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ August 01, 2021 (edited August 01, 2021)

Edited

Interesting. I never considered the malpractice aspects. Know their premiums are high but whatever their takes after the middlemen get theirs has still got to be huge. I’m guessing $500 an hour. Lawyers are making $400-500 + an hour. So when you look at it that way...

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ August 01, 2021

Dentists in my area are charging $100 to $200 per hour. Attorneys charge $100, corporate attorneys double that. Nobody's getting poor in either profession, that's for sure.

Deleted user August 01, 2021

YEOUCH in more ways than one! I'm sorry you had to deal with that.

Marg August 01, 2021

Wow that’s a lot of money! Once again I’m forever grateful for our NHS here - we do still have to pay a nominal amount but it’s a fraction of the real cost.

Oswego Marg ⋅ August 01, 2021

You are lucky. We can get very quick dental and health services with little waiting, but the cost is astronomical.

MageB August 01, 2021

Yes, I just had an implant, and the color of the new tooth is wrong. LOL

Oswego MageB ⋅ August 01, 2021

Mine will probably be, too. Fortunately it’s not a front tooth. Lol

Sabrina-Belle August 02, 2021

That is an awful lot of money. Most people here are able to get treatment on the Nhs, although it wouldn't cover implants and more complicated root canal work. Even private treatment though is a lot cheaper here.

Oswego Sabrina-Belle ⋅ August 02, 2021

I still am shocked over the cost of this work. It’s beyond all understanding.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.