So, this happened. in Fresh Jersey Peach

  • May 10, 2014, 10:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Friday morning our principal called for a quick meeting right before school started.

He informed us he'd resigned and would finish out the year but was leaving, he's been there 6 years.

He's an AMAZING principal and there were a lot of tears. I've only worked at this school for one year, but it's been simply wonderful to have him as my boss.

He's so understanding, laid back yet firm and completely gets that sometimes family interferes with work. He's been great with all the staff about letting them leave early or come in late if their kids have school functions, get sick, etc.

Which is why he's leaving...he's such a dedicated family man with three kids and he lives almost two hours from our school. So he was spending almost 4 hours a day commuting for the past 6 years. He said how he felt he had to choose between being there for our school functions (plays, sporting events, concerts) or being there for his kids' school functions.

And his 3 young kids (all under age 10) were starting to feel the loss of their daddy never being there.

I really respect him for putting his family above his career. He got a new principal job 20 minutes from where he lives.

But....for non-tenured (new) teachers like me...this could suck.

He loves me and my work. The new principal could very well love me too....or not. I've seen where new principals come in and get rid of all non-tenured teachers to hire their friends or just because they just take a dislike to a teacher/personality clash.

So, I didn't go to that interview (see previous entries) because I had a secure job where the principal loves me....and now that's gone.

I'm kicking myself.

Like I said, the new principal could be just as great but I won't know until well into the school year. We probably won't even find out who it is until summer/right before school starts.

So, I asked my current principal to write me letter of recommendation before he leaves in case I job hunt and will keep my resume up to date.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.