Plagues and Birthdays in Generalities

  • May 9, 2014, 12:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wrote the following on Tuesday...trying to be better about not giving up on entries, so...

Jer and I both caught the standard-issue spring cold that's been going around lately. Awesome. It's been two weeks of it in our house. He caught it pretty much immediately after Easter and it lingered...and lingered. I did everything I could to avoid catching it, but found myself with a scratchy throat on Friday night and a full-blown bleh when I woke up on Saturday. Jer was still feeling crappy at that point, too, so we decided to call his mother and say we were only coming up for the stuff she wanted us to take and coming back.

Which worked out well, as I was feeling a tad guilty - but only a tad - about last entry's rant about her, only to have her call me that evening to tell me about ALLLLL the things she wanted us to help with while we were there. "Bring some clothes you can get dirty..." and the usual "It won't take us very long..."

We drugged ourselves up, headed up, got the stuff, got out. I spent the rest of the weekend (and the first part of the week) being gross, then the rest of the work week trying to hide how gross I may or may not still have been. I finally started to feel somewhat normal again on Sunday, but still have some sinusy whatever. I thought it was minimal, but my supervisor commented "Oh, you're still under the weather?" when I was in her office this morning.

So, yeah...life and work was put on hold for biology. We've both been spending the week going gangbusters on getting everything put back into place.

/Tuesday


Friday. Yay, Friday! I'd be in a much better mood about it if wasn't Mother's Day weekend. I used to not care so much about it, but it seems like each year, not only does it get under my skin a bit, but earlier in the week each year. Being surrounded by ads/memes/sentimentalitals really brings out the eye-rolling, irritation, and jadedness in me.

In addition, I'm really not wanting to go visit Jer's mom for it, either. It's his mom, yes. And I really need to find a way to be a bit more mindful of that and keep my distaste checked at the door. Admitting it is the first step?

Don't wanna.

That combined with that, along with Jer and I getting into an epic all-day battle yesterday over something not so small, has me feeling nice and drained. Oh, and the rainy dreary weather isn't helping, either.


In more uplifting news, we celebrated my dad's birthday last weekend. Since my siblings can't be counted on for jack, I pulled together a cake for him and we took him out to his favorite prime-rib place. Stopped to visit Grandpa on the way back, then cake and a bonfire candles, followed by a few games of cards. Nice and low-key, just the way we like it.

Before that, it was Tommy's birthday - hard to believe his litter is nine! It seems impossible that that amount of time has passed since they came to us. Back then, he was just a widdle fwuff that could fit in the cup of my hand. Today, the palm of my hand is about the size (but usually smaller) than his paw. I always wondered about his dad, because he looked nothing like Ipsa or his sisters, not to mention his size.

And yes, we still call him kitten. And yes, he's still Little Tom.


Okay, I'm finding it hard to not be melancholy. I'll spare you the rest. Here's hoping I get a mood boost soon. :P


Ferret Mom May 09, 2014

Happy birthday to your dad.

Jigger May 10, 2014

Oh, birthday kisses to wee Tommy. Nike's next over here.

Sorry for the melancholy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.