Chemo, Day One in Here Be Dust

  • May 8, 2014, 5:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had my first chemo infusion earlier today. Was able to drive home, though M was prepared to drive if I couldn't. I became slightly headachey during the infusion and for a couple of hours thereafter, but that faded without added meds. Stomach feels a little off, but no real nausea (lots of burping). Bowels are in will-they-or-won't-they mode. (Says M, who has MS, "Welcome to the club.") Drank 12 cups of water yesterday and have surpassed that today. My water bottle is my constant companion.

I lay down for a couple of hours after I got home. I felt a slight body tingle when I got up. The taste of water seemed slightly changed, though not unpleasant. Both the tingling and the taste change seemed to lessen once I started moving around. Had a peanut butter sandwich after I got home and some Brussels sprouts following my quasi-nap.

Frequent, small meals are recommended, along with frequent sips of water. So far, eating, drinking, and moving do a great job of regulating the mild side effects I have. When I feel them increase, even a little, I know it's time to take action.

Two days after surgery, I still have some tenderness around my port, so the chemo nurse gave me a good spritz of numbing spray before she accessed it. Was told I could remove my port bandage (gauze and adhesive tape, similar to what one would get for a blood test) an hour after I got home. Was extra careful because the tape had taken a shine to my two-day-old surgical glue. I didn't want that glue going anywhere.

Will be back at the cancer center tomorrow for my Neulasta shot, whose job is to rebuild the immunity I've just knocked down.

I've been taking some walks around the house and did some gentle dancing at my desk. Am being very attentive to what my body tells me -- not pushing it, but not resting on my laurels, either. I feel like a hardy weed that has now been hybridized with a delicate hothouse flower.

I spent the past few days training myself to keep from crossing my legs (which is a big, all-caps no-no because it can cause edema). They don't want me crossing my ankles, either. Other adjustments include an OCD-level of hand-washing, including using a paper towel to turn the faucet off; drying my hands with a paper towel; and patting dry rather than rubbing. Hothouse flower, indeed.

I'm tracking just about everything. Side effects. Temperature. Weight. Bowel movements. Water consumption. Meds taken. M has been doing more sweeping up. We've both had our moments in the days leading up to today, but she's being a real trooper in all this, for which I am very, very grateful.


GypsyWynd May 08, 2014

keeping good healing thoughts coming your way

Vamp May 09, 2014

Ever since reading the link you posted about edema, I found I've been crossing my legs a lot less. It's a good habit to get into.

-hugs- Here's hoping the rest of your chemo stays even keel like this. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.