Done! in Bookish

  • June 12, 2021, 8:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today, I completed my 20th book of the year! So I’ve completed my Goodreads Reading Challenge for 2021. Yay me! I supposed I should edit my goal but I honestly didn’t think I’d be reading this much. Or at least so much so fast.

I’ve only finished two books since last I updated this journal, so here they are.

1) The Push by Ashley Audrain
(4 out of 5 stars)
~WOAH. This one was disturbing and emotionally charging. I had to actually skip over a major plot point because it was so distressing to me. A woman’s failure to bond with her firstborn leaves her questioning if there’s something wrong with the child instead of her. After tragedy strikes, there is further reason for suspicion that this child is not well. Her mother sets out to prove this and loses herself (and her way of life) in the process.
Lots of triggering subjects/emotions in this psychological thriller. That said… it is extremely well written and you just won’t want to put it down because it’s so suspenseful. The ending made me twitch with anticipation. I’d definitely recommend this book, but I’d have to know my audience first. There are some touchy topics here (postpartum depression, gaslighting, stalking, loss of child, to name a few).

2) The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin
(2 out of 5 stars)
~Alright, I probably shouldn’t count this as one of my books for this year, as it’s juvenile fiction (not even YA....yikes). I’m part of a “What Should I Read Next” group on Facebook, and several members mentioned this book and said it was so moving and thought provoking. I read tons of great reviews so I figured I’d give it a chance.
In short, twelve year old Suzy tries to make sense of a loss in her life. She creates an elaborate scheme to prove a theory she’s created. Predictably, nothing goes to plan and she’s forced to deal with the reality of her situation.
I’m sorry, but this book did nothing for me. It’s probably a good read for adolescents coping with loss/grief. Or bullying or being unaccepted at school. Middle school blows and this book doesn’t make it any more rosy, but it may help young readers feel they’re not alone in these strange years.

I’m still working on Outlander. I almost quit this one, it was just not grabbing my attention. But my coworkers (who love the show) said it gets so good and sexy and to not give up. Well, it’s gotten more interesting but the sexy bits are kind of…bland to me. My one friend said it’s way hotter than “Fifty Shades”, which I’ve never read. But I don’t find them that earth shattering. I’m over halfway through the first book of the series and if things don’t seriously pick up or the ending doesn’t leave me hanging off a cliff, I’m not gonna keep reading the series. It’s a lot of time to invest into these books, and so far it’s just been meh for me.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.