Falling in Children

  • June 11, 2021, 8:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Billy has been struggling with sleep the last few nights. He’s been waking up loads and wriggling around, keeping me awake. I think it must be the heat.

Last night he stayed in his own bed from about 8pm until 12:30am! Some sort of miracle.

At 11:45pm, me and Dave were woken up by a thump coming from somewhere in the house, it sounded like when Harrison falls out of bed (he has cushions down the side of the bed and it’s very low to the ground.) he went to see and they were both fast asleep in their beds. A quick look around the house and there’s no sign of what it might have been. Weird.

45 minutes later, we hear another identical thump and Billy starts screaming. I run in and he’s fallen out of bed! The bed guard we have had moved and he fell underneath it, falling off his divan bed, which is quite tall, and onto the floor! He doesn’t sleep in a cot because he needs to be nursed and cuddled to sleep which you can’t do with a cot.

Oh my god, I felt awful, seeing him lying there on the floor, screaming his little head off. I picked him up and he immediately stopped crying. He went back to sleep but I couldn’t sleep for a while as I was terrified he might have concussion, but he seems absolutely fine and in a good mood.

Poor little mite, it’s our job to protect him and we failed him. I keep thinking about the wooden stool that was next to the bed but Harrison moved it so he could look out of the window. If that had been there, he would have banged his head on it and could have been very seriously injured or worse.

I know most babies get dropped or fall off something and they’re usually fine, but it never happened with Harrison and the guilt is huge 😢

It’s so strange that we both got woken up by a mysterious thump just before it happened though…!


Last updated June 11, 2021


history of love June 11, 2021

What a shock for you all. Glad he is ok x

wintergrey June 11, 2021

These things really haunt you, don't they? We went out with one of Noah's nursery friends on Monday and the little boy fell off the slide in the playground, probably 2 metres down onto that rubbery surface. He screamed immediately, which apparently is a good sign, when they are quiet after a fall is when you need to worry. Thankfully he was ok , but that thump is still haunting me...

Bomb Shell wintergrey ⋅ June 11, 2021

It’s horrible when they hurt themselves. When I was a child, it was all concrete in the playground! Thank goodness for the rubbery surface!

~Twinkle~ June 11, 2021

Poor Billy and poor you! Luke fell last summer from a play frame thing in yhe park, landed flat on his back on that soft foamy stuff, scared the crap out of the both of us and i felt dreadful for days. Ive never heard him cry like that 😔

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ June 11, 2021

I’m just glad they’ve got the rubbery floors these days, it was all concrete when I was a child! 😬 it’s always horrible when they hurt themselves, makes me want to cry as well.

Bumbly June 12, 2021

I must be verging more on the sociopathic side of parenting as I've never felt guilty, even when Zach broke a leg! 🤣

Mamie June 12, 2021

thank goodness he was okay

Camdengirl June 12, 2021

I think both of mine fell off the bed - I felt awful!

Lucretia June 15, 2021

How bizarre! I'm glad he's okay though - scary stuff x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.