Childfree in 2021

  • June 8, 2021, 5:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I dropped my kids off at camp on Sunday, and I’m picking them up on Friday. I can email the camp and they will print out the emails and give them to the kids - daughter said, “No thanks mom, I’ll be fine” and son said “Send me the scores of the Braves games.” LOL!

I worked a full day yesterday and half a day today. Tomorrow I’m home all day because we’re having a new HVAC installed. We were having some issues with the compressor tripping a breaker, and when the repair guy came out to look at it he informed us that the system is original to the house (which was built in 1981) and the furnace is from 2002 (so nearly twenty years old). We decided to replace the entire system rather than waiting until something breaks and it’s an emergency.

Hurray for dead mom money! I feel kind of bad making that joke, but seriously we would be in a panic without it. And really I don’t feel that bad, it’s not like we’re spending all of it on this one thing, it’s just making the large purchase of necessary house items easier.

Speaking of Mom, we’re going to Virginia in two weeks to bury her cremains with my dad. I’m paranoid that we’re going to get halfway there and I’ll realize I’ve left the urn at home. I’ll probably put it in the car two days early just so I don’t forget!

Anyway, back to my childfree week. We’re going out to dinner every night (except last night, because I close the library on Mondays so I don’t get home until almost 9pm). I think it’s sushi tonight, and I’m super excited.

I also stopped at the liquor store on the way home to get some Long Drink (it’s a Norwegian gin drink that we both enjoy) and grabbed some cans of Peach Margarita too. I didn’t realize each can has the equivalent of two shots of tequila. I had one after I worked out and took a shower, and now I’ve got a pleasant buzz going. Thinking about having another one but that might be a bridge too far LOL! I should probably wait until after dinner.


-d June 08, 2021

Sounds lovely! Enjoy it!

Honor June 09, 2021

Sounds like a lovely week!

Calicakes June 11, 2021

Are you going to keep some of the ashes? Julie's sis is sending her some of her moms/dads ashes. She's been looking at jewelery( its kinda creepy to me).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.