My numbers.... in Flash

  • May 5, 2014, 10:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

... came in the mail today.

In a nutshell.

After a year without sugar or wheat, my cholesterol which was ok anyway is somewhat better. First time I've ever had high enough HDL (good cholesterol). Total cholesterol now is 163, was 173 in September of 2012. Good cholesterol was 35, is now 42. Triglycerides were 115, now 108.

But.... My blood sugar was 98 and is now 100. That is considered high (by one point).

They also tested (this time, I didn't have these numbers last time) BUN, e GFR, creatinine, sodium, potassium, uric acid, calcium, AST, TSH and HGB. All were in normal range.

This is a wellness screening. It didn't cost much.

I'm not sure what I could do to get my glucose down to a happy number. Less fruit and fewer corn chips, I suppose.

#

Beautiful day. First day the farmers are really out in the fields. I went over to where Jim was chisel plowing and the lime spreading people were there. This was the first day they'd been able to be out too. Lime is put on hay ground to improve yield. It lowers/raises pH - makes it less acid. The clearing is due to get it too. They will have a hard time getting up there - but the guy said that's part of what they do.

I came home past the Amish settlement south of the highway. The Amish who live near us are north of the highway. I don't get to see these that often. A girl was mowing lawn - tall grass - with a push power mower and a boy was rototilling a big garden. Our Amish are new - they came from different areas. They do not farm, they do not have enough land. They build new houses and other buildings. They have horses in small pastures. And buggies in garages. They work for farmers, they do carpenter work, and have stores and other businesses.

I came home and watered the deck flowers. I found my Ho-mi and my gloves and I did a bit of gardening. I planted milkweed seeds in with the new tulips and daffodils.

These daffodils came out today.  photo DSC08530.jpg

I dug around some plants I'm pretty much sure are hollyhocks.  photo DSC08527.jpg Note accidental picture of the Ho-mi in the upper right corner of the picture above.

I took a picture of my hops.  photo DSC08529.jpg
This seems to be the year it leaps. Though I think it looked better yesterday before the cows walked through it.

I took a picture of the sedum.
 photo DSC08532.jpg

And another of a new sedum.
 photo DSC08533.jpg

And one of a daylily I planted last year.  photo DSC08534.jpg

Both the new sedum and the daylily were smothered last year by pole beans, I'm just glad they made it through the winter. They will do their leaping another year.

These aren't the greatest photos but they indicate that something is growing. And that I got off my butt and went outside and took some pictures.

I have a series of Gracie I might post tomorrow. She had something trapped in the culvert under the driveway. She worked pretty hard at catching it but I think whatever it was was smart enough to stay in the middle of the culvert where it was safe.


Deleted user May 05, 2014

Thanks for sharing your numbers. Do you eat a lot of fruit? Interesting that with eliminating other sugars and wheat, your blood sugar has increased.

Also interesting about the Amish. Is it possible they are an order of Mennonites and not Amish? (Mennonites vary greatly in level of 'modernity', do Amish as well?) I'm surprised they'd use a power mower. When I was young we we lived right among an Amish community. Our babysitters came in their capes and bonnets, we got our milk and eggs from the Millers, and as little girls my sister and I played with the Amish girls. Of course my mom was happy about that, wasn't much chance of us being corrupted, ha! My dad still goes there sometimes to visit them.

Nice to see the green again. And daffodils!

woman in the moon Deleted user ⋅ May 06, 2014

These are Amish = but the level of 'compliance' varies. People say it depends on what the bishop allows. They work as hired men for big farmers driving huge farm equipment. The do not have cars - a job for the 'English' or non-Amish is driving them places - such as to their jobs.
Two groups from different places sent out young people to our area so they would have new Amish people to meet. Fresh blood as it were.
They have changed our neighborhoods. Funny you know there will be changes but you don't know what they'll be. That's profound. Sure.

RoseS May 05, 2014

My doctor would do cartwheels for my blood sugar to be 100... she says 80-100 is normal. Sleep also affects it, as does exercise.

Flame is Love May 05, 2014

I've been glucose testing for a month or so and I'm nearly convinced nothing I do affects it. Perfect healthy food day? High blood glucose. Gave in to the crappy cheeseburger? Perfect numbers. /sigh

NorthernSeeker May 06, 2014

Your numbers sound pretty impressive, and you'll probably hear from more people who say so.

Thanks for the photo of the daffodils.

What the heck is a Ho-mi? Sounds Vietnamese.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ May 06, 2014

My Ho-mi is my Korean gardening implement. It's a piece of steel cut and shaped into a curved pointed blade. It is my prized possession when I'm up for gardening. I broke it gardening too strenuously and my husband welded it. You've seen it - just not for some time.

Darcy0207 from OD May 06, 2014

I've found recently that I do better on potatoes than on grain. Although I still eat grain, it's just not as much as before. And I stay away from bread as much as possible - it does me in. I love hollyhocks. I "met" them first in California when I was 11 or so. I see them once in a long while in NYC. I still remember the puppy pics of Gracie...

Florentine May 06, 2014

I'm always mystified by glucose/blood sugar screening. I did mine for a week when pregnant with C, and the numbers were never consistent. They tended to be on the high side, which baffled me because I also avoid refined sugars.

Love hearing about your gardening! You'll have to post lots of pictures when it fills in over summer so we can see its lushness.

Linda May 06, 2014

Good reading and viewing. Very interesting about the Amish.

I think at a certain age, the numbers are harder and harder to manipulate through diet and exercise. The body isn't meant to last forever. Your numbers are great, though!

Ragdolls May 06, 2014

thesunnyabyss May 06, 2014

love the daffodils, they are just blooming here too in my neck of the woods,

good news on the numbers!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.