The C word in After OD

  • June 3, 2021, 4 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Cancer. I’ve had it twice before. Low malignant potential epithelial tumors. They took my ability to have more children. When the second tumor was found 7 years after the first was removed, I made the decision to have a total hysterectomy. It was a choice that was supposed to give me relief from the constant wondering if the cancer would come back. Chances are small. The ovaries and entire reproductive organs were removed. Yet, there is always the possibility that the cancer would inhabit the peritoneal tissue that lines my abdomen.
Now, 6 years after hysterectomy, I started feeling familiar twinges of pain in my lower left abdomen. It’s uncomfortable and worrisome. It could be related to other things, but clearly my mind goes straight to cancer. I googled peritoneal cancer and it doesn’t look good. A 48 month life expectancy after treatment.
Please God, let these pains be something else. I’m not prepared for cancer treatments, fighting for my life, or being the parent a child looses way too soon.


Timmy™ June 03, 2021

<3

He Who Must Not Be Named June 03, 2021

Having lost too many family members and friends to cancer, I'm really hoping for you that it is not cancer, and it's just something else.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.