Tired in 2020

  • June 2, 2021, 3:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like I’m always tired. No matter how regularly I exercise, how good (or bad) I eat, whether I’m crazy busy or have plenty of time to relax. Maybe this is just my lot in life now.

It’s been a good week, albeit a busy one. My boy turned 15 yesterday! I had to work in the morning, but then we went to get his learner’s permit. He passed the test, so now he’s legally able to drive - with an adult. I let him drive a tiny bit in the neighborhood today, he was understandably nervous but overall he did a good job of keeping his eyes on the road and not hitting anything.

Rob got his boss’s tickets to the Braves game last night, and we surprised David with that. He loves baseball and he was thrilled to get to go to a game on his birthday. I was thrilled with the seats, which are pretty much behind home plate. The Braves lost, but it was an entertaining game nonetheless.

This morning I took both kids to get their second Pfizer shot. They did well, and we got donuts after. Tonight we’re going to dinner with Rob’s parents and his sister. Then tomorrow I have to take them to CVS to get a Covid test, because they have to have a negative test to go to camp.

We’re sending them to sleepaway camp for the first time this year. After the chaos of this year, we figured they need a week away from technology and a chance to make some new friends. I really hope they have a good time. I’m sort of driving myself mad making sure they have everything they’ll need for the week, but Rob assures me it will be fine.

The rest of the summer will be fairly busy too. We’re going to Virginia in the end of June for my mom’s burial, and then when we get back David is taking an in-person Driver’s Ed class (30 classroom hours, followed by 4 hours driving with an instructor), and then Sophie has a week of “freshman prep” at the high school in July. I’m also looking into an art camp at the local art museum for her, but she hasn’t made up her mind about that yet.

Overall, life is good, and I have nothing to complain about. I just wish I wasn’t so damn tired!


-d June 02, 2021

That sounds awesome!!!

I remember my first time at sleep away camp, my dad gave me like $400 because he was so nervous something would happen. Lol!

Calicakes June 03, 2021

Have you had an A1c and iron and thyroid test done? You could be anemic. When my iron was low, I was exhausted all the time. How do you have a 15yr old? I remember when he was born.

Honor June 04, 2021

I always wished we had sleep away camps here. They’re not a common thing, and I feel like that’s so sad!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.