It’s time to start taking UFOs seriously in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • May 23, 2021, 12:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s time to start taking UFOs, or as they’re called now, UAPs (Unidentified Aerial Phenomena) seriously.

I’ve been interested in this subject since I was a teenager growing up in New Orleans in the Sixties. I remember I got a paperback book on “Project Blue Book,” that was about the government’s secret investigation of these phenomena. Back then the subject was off limits for “sane” discussion, meaning that if you told people you believed in UFOs they started backing away fearfully from the nut-job talking to them.

In the Eighties Whitley Strieber’s best seller “Communion” about alien contact and abduction was really far out, but hugely popular. Now he’s giving more talks and interviews than ever, I surmise, including two fascinating interviews I listened to late last year. It all still seems bizarre, but the source is so rational-sounding and credible. The interviewer was the parapsychologist Dr. Jeffrey Mishlove, whom I greatly admre for his vast knowledge and open-mindedness.

I was enthralled by the movie ET in 1982. It’s hard to believe that was almost 40 years ago.

Interest in the subject of aliens or extraterrestrial beings contacting us or appearing in the skies above, and witnessed by so many thousands of people, is reaching up into the stratosphere of late. Naturally, the skeptics and debunkers will try to logically and scientifically explain it all away to their satisfaction. Good for them. We need the debate.

But the lid has blown off the topic recently with the federal government finally admitting to the prsence of UAPs. The famous videos taken with heat-seeing cameras, of the triangular-shaped flying objects and released recently, led to this admission.

Harvard’s eminent astophysicist Avi Loeb is on board. He has extensively studied the cigar shaped object that barreled theough solar system in 2017 and believes with certainty that it is of extraterrestrial origin. That could mean a lot of things and has huge implications.

The mainsteeam media is fully engaged in the discussion now. Take a look at the mind-boggling links in this article.

https://getpocket.com/explore/item/everything-we-re-reading-about-ufo

Angela Thompson Smith has directly communicated with extraterrestrials and has written about it in “Voices from the Cosmos.”

Will the secrets of Area 51 and Roswell finally be revealed conclusively? Is the world ready for the truth about these strange and formerly unexplainable phenomena? We’ll see.

Orson Welles, where are you? Are you listening to all this? Times have changed since “War of the Worlds.”


Last updated May 23, 2021


Telstar May 23, 2021

I've always taken UFOs seriously.

Oswego Telstar ⋅ May 25, 2021

You must be gratified to see the powers that be either waking up, or no linger able to hide these visits and related phenomena.

Telstar Oswego ⋅ May 25, 2021

I'm sure that there will be a UFO channel on TV before long.

The country seems to always be looking for someone or something to blame for the world's problems. UFOs will fill the bill.................

Oswego Telstar ⋅ May 25, 2021

There is now—. The History Channel — Ancient Aliens !

Extraterrestrials hopefully will flip the switch which will enable usto evolve into more civilized and less barbaric beings. (Wishful thinking, I know)

Looking up at the sky tonight!!

Telstar Oswego ⋅ May 25, 2021

Let's not forget the Syfy channel...............

Kristi1971 May 23, 2021

My uncle (mother's brother) was a biker and took his bike all over. One trip to northern Maine scared him silent. My mom told me that he came back from a trip and while riding at night saw something UFO-related that terrified him. He would not give any details or say anything more about it.

One time when we were staying with my Nana in Brunswick, I happened to look out the bathroom window to see a really strange light in the sky. It was like a really bright unusual star. I got her birding binoculars and looked through them. The object in the sky was just hovering up there. I could see a piece of whatever it was kind of opening and closing on whatever it was. I can still picture what I saw in my head now as I type. I brought the rest of the family to look, and everyone saw it. We were not far from the Brunswick Naval Air Base, so we figured it was something related to that. The next day we learned we were not the only ones to see whatever it was. It made the local news.

ConnieK May 23, 2021

I read "Communion" and am still on the fence. I think Stephen Hawkings warning is one we should heed: they probably won't be friendly. Based on that, I hope I never know. If I actually SAW an alien, I would die of fright, so that's a Pandora's Box that I'm happy not to open.

I am also open to the idea that some of these sightings are actually spy machines from unfriendly countries.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ May 25, 2021

I know what you mean. If I ever saw or had an encounter with a bona fide extraterrestrial, I can’t even conceive of how I would react. Probably like being on some substance like psilocybin.

I really don’t think they’re spy machines. No country on earth could possibly have the maneuverability of those craft or “phenomena.”

Jinn May 25, 2021

I have seen them. One night a few years ago I saw four bright lights in the sky in a formation so I got my binoculars and watched them for three hours ; they were oval shaped with white lights on top and red lights on the bottom. They would get in a formation then one would go away suddenly , then return again . When they flew away it was so fast that they seemed to almost immediately disappear. They were low enough in the sky that I could clearly see the shapes of them and they were not like anything I had ever seen before. Obviously they did not care if they were seen. I tried repeatedly to wake F. Up so he could see them too but he would not look at them and kept saying I was imagining them. I was so frustrated ! Finally after hours of their maneuvers they all disappeared at once . What they were , I have no idea but I know what I saw . It was fascinating. And a little scary.

Oswego Jinn ⋅ May 25, 2021

That is truly amazing. But how on earth did you keep calm enough to watch those bizarre phenomena for three hours?? I would have been bug-eyed and possibly in a trance state after 15 minutes.

Have you told many people about that experience, and what did they think? Frank thought you were just imagining it, but to me you are one of those rare, fortunate individuals who have witnessed the truly unexplainable, which in the incident you refer to, is about as close to an actual extraterrestrial sighting as is possible to imagine.

Jinn Oswego ⋅ May 25, 2021

I have told lots of people I know but they seemed skeptical. I know what I saw and I could not stop watching until they left. My face was sore from the binoculars . I have looked any time I am outside at night since and have never seen anything like it again.

Marg May 29, 2021

What I’m struck by is how many of your noters have had UFO experiences! Certainly not an uncommon experience and when it’s people you know and trust, it makes it all the more believable!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.