T Minus 4 Days to Chemo in Here Be Dust

  • May 5, 2014, 1:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Did a bit of yard work -- perhaps the last yard work I'll do for a while (whatever that will mean).

My list of phone calls to make for tomorrow includes:

--1. The pharmacy for the anti-nausea meds, to get their tracking number and reconfirm that the meds will be sent to the cancer center directly rather than to my home, since I am having surgery on the day of delivery.

--2. The cancer center, to (a) give them a heads-up about the package delivery; (b) give them the PET scan authorization number for their billing; (c) get more info on when to take Claritin and Tylenol on the day of chemo (before chemo? During? After? Does it matter?) as a side effect preventative*; and (d) ask about L-glutamine, an amino acid that helps with body rebuilding. A friend had used it during her chemo and recommended it, but one of our reference books says it can be hard on kidneys.

* Claritin and Tylenol are taken on the day of chemo plus 4-5 days afterward to mitigate the effects of the Neulasta shot I'll be given the day after chemo. The shot is meant to help my body rebuild, but it causes bone marrow to work overtime, creating pain.

--3. Call the mechanic to tell him about the car leak and to detail our car needs.

--4. Call the dentist to reschedule M's cleaning, which falls on the same day as chemo. I had left a message on Friday.

--5. Call the taxi company I'm using on Tuesday for surgery, to let them know when I need to be at the hospital. I won't know that until the hospital calls and tells me on Monday.

I now have my "Chemo Calendar" posted above my desk, along with the word "Crossing" in a red circle with a big red slash through it. Instructions from the cancer center say to not cross my legs while under chemo, so starting today I am working to break that habit. Here's why. I will also need to get up at regular intervals and do some movement.

Setting alarms to eat and drink if I lose my appetite is another strategy, along with eating small amounts at a time and frequently, according to this strategy. On the other hand, appetite can also increase, as described in this video. Nothing is clear-cut, so I'm trying to prepare for as many contingencies as I can.

I actually made my first smoothie this morning (since smoothies are recommended): 8 oz. of plain Greek yogurt, a banana, 3 Tbsp. honey, and a half-cup of water. I can get used to this. :-)

After reading this list of things to bring to chemo and this follow-up, I have my chemo bag partially packed, with pillow, hoodie, slipper socks, MP3 player, eReader, journal, pillow, hand lotion, lip balm, and hand sanitizer (some of these already live in my fanny pack). A warm hat and easy-to-manage food are also on the list. I already have a blanket in the car (one can get cold during chemo) and will need to pack a second blanket for M.

I have a reminder to myself to wear a front-buttoning shirt to surgery on Tuesday and also to chemo on Thursday, to enable access to my port.

More as I think of it. :-)


Rivercity May 05, 2014

You're in my thoughts: I hope this all goes well and that the bad parts are not as bad as you're anticipating.

GypsyWynd May 05, 2014

I'll be keeping you in my prayers.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.