Take it all with a grain of salt in Everyday Rants...

  • May 18, 2021, 4:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

lime, and tequila. That song by Ryan Griffin. I’m not a fan of most new music, but I was in my truck when this came on, and the chord progression caught my ear, so I hit the info button to see the title and artist, then came home and found it on YouTube. So I’ve been listening to it a lot. Learning it. Already figuring out the harmony lines that I can comfortably hit. Will I video myself singing it? Probably not. I used to enjoy doing that, and I had a channel on YT for it. It was a lot of me singing in the car, and I did enjoy it back then. But, I got to where I really hated listening to myself. I only did one where I was actually pleased with the result. After the last girl I dated proved she was mental, and I hiked my ass out of the state park alone, I ended up deleting the channel, as she’d watched a bunch of my videos, none of which were recorded within the last 5 years, and as I said, I just lost the will to keep it going.

I may or may not have covered on here that I have a CatGenie automatic litter box. I absolutely love the thing, except the $25 cleaning solution cartridges. Well, I finally got fed up, and hacked it so it can’t tell that I’m reusing the same cartridge over and over, and just refilling it with this SimpleGreen cat formula. The jug of that should give me probably 5 refills for less than half the cost of one of those damn cartridges. Now I’ve just gotta find something that can catch the granules that stick to the cat’s feet, and get tracked all over the damn house, and picked up by the Roomba, which end up in the garbage. But hey, part one is solved.

Boy, today was really a Monday. First job was a motor install, which the only motor of that model I had was an open box, so already questionable. Got it installed, tried to get it programmed, then it would only click at me. Great. So I changed in the board and the little gizmo that tells the board how far the motor has turned, went to program it again, got 3/4 of the way through programming - click click. Shit. So I had grabbed an open box of the next model up, grabbed it out of the van, pull it out of the box, and it was the model I needed anyway. “So how f!ked is this one?” Swapped it onto the rail, rehung it, programmed it, and it worked. Nice. That 1-1.5 hour job took me 3 hours and a whole lot of swearing. Oh, and I fell off the ladder again. Wheeeee! I know I know, I need to replace it, and I will. If I have enough on this check, I’ll buy the little Little Giant I want. Damn those ladders are expensive, but totally worth it.

I had a dream last night that I was with someone, a girl I knew, but I’m not sure who. It wasn’t BL, at least.

Oh, and I watched Coming 2 America. I was sorely disappointed within the first 15 minutes, but elected to carry on, as I’d rented it from Amazon Prime. I’ve never wanted my money back so badly from something that I bought off Amazon. Holy shit. Some people said it was too PC, or too “woke”. I didn’t get that from it, but they did rehash way too many jokes- and not well, and they made it so so stupid. Really? The original formula worked out great, it was funny without being stupid, and it told a good story. This may as well have been the Klump’s farting dinner scene on repeat. It was about as intelligent. Ruined a Gladys Knight song, made James Earl Jones, Wesley Snipes, and whoever played Akim’s son look like total dumbasses, and they rehashed the barber shop guys, who were already old as hell (the old Jewish guy was already pushing 80) 30 years older, which they don’t look older in this one. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. Amazon ruined Grand Tour, which was a great format, well loved by many, and now I won’t watch that either. So, lesson from this, Amazon f!ks up good shows and movies, and really should just provide the watching medium, and stay the hell out of production.

Coming 2 America: Thumbs down, 1 star, would NOT recommend.

I came home and at least got some mowing done before the rains started up again. But now I’m going to go feed the cat and put on Stargate SG-1. Goodnight!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.