Making way for reality in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • May 15, 2021, 1:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lately I’ve been very excited about learning new things every day; reading the most thought-provoking books I can imagine; immersing myself in educational, philosophical and metaphysical YouTubes; watching good movies I’ve been anticipating; and listening to enlightening music. It’s all there, waiting for me.

But it’s also still Spring and I’m looking out on a gloriously sunny and beautiful day. I have to get out. The learning and intellectual stimulation will have to wait until later today or this evening.

At the same time, reality has abruptly intruded, ironically since I got my second Covid shot nearly a month ago. For the first time in 15 months, I’ve ventured out into the real world of lots of people. I’ve over-indulged inshopping forays at my favorite stores. And, unfortunately, I’ve had to tend to overdue doctor and dental visits and appointments.

So my little pandemic hideaway existence, and gnome-like solitary life of the mind are becoming wispy, pleasant memories. My pandemic-laden excuses not to tend to my physical health have resulted in some unwanted gifts in the form of reality checks.

I’m venturing out into the familiar and known once again, and it’s full of both dangers and exciting possibilities for new forms of freedom. I must alter some negative ways of thinking. I need to focus on healing and nurturing both my mind and body. That’s one of the great lessons I’ve learned in life, especially valuable now that I’m on a journey into my seventies.


Last updated May 15, 2021


Kristi1971 May 15, 2021

And you will take care of things and put them behind you. Hugs. I will be two weeks out by next Wednesday. I will be a month out when I finally get to the dentist, too. I timed that perfectly! I hope I don't have cavities, but we shall see..

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ May 15, 2021

Thank you! It just seems like there’s so much to take care of all at once. 🤔

You will really enjoy being able to do more things. It’s been liberating.

Kristi1971 Oswego ⋅ May 16, 2021

It certainly can feel overwhelming. One appointment at a time.

ConnieK May 15, 2021

Just finished up all necessary medical appointments. You'll be glad when it's all behind you.

simple mind May 15, 2021

I see too many older folks who lose that intellectual curiosity and become rigid and close-minded. You are doing it right.

I too am starting to emerge from my pandemic shell, it's a bit odd. But there's a lot to look forward to. Best wishes for that 70s journey!

Oswego simple mind ⋅ May 15, 2021

Thank you! There is a lot to look forward to. I’m glad my intellectual curiosity is increasing as never before, and most of that is due to getting old and having limited time left. While I still have my mind, and I hope and pray I retain it, I’m going to use it.

mcbee May 16, 2021

Life does feel strange right now...but ultimately hopeful. I am solitary either way, so not a huge lifestyle change for me. I did miss the stores.

Oswego mcbee ⋅ May 16, 2021

It wasn’t really for me either. The biggest change to a kind of extreme solitude came after Mom passed in January 2020, and there were no more caregivers and visitors, and the house felt so empty with Mom gone. Then the pandemic. I adapted pretty well last year but this year, particularly now all of a sudden, it’s hitting me hard. Before there was a nice feeling of solitude, now it’s something more like actual loneliness.

Jinn May 16, 2021

Keep exploring but take care of yourself too !

Marg May 17, 2021

That must feel a bit overwhelming after so long - I hope it starts to feel more natural after a while and not so much something that’s been imposed on you.

Oswego Marg ⋅ May 17, 2021

Frankly, my little cozy quarantine fantasy world seems to have withered away. I’m remarkably more anxious than I was. A series of converging factors tend to shake me out of my satisfying reveries and complacency,even, from time to time. Lately, it’s felt more like an earthquake!

Marg Oswego ⋅ May 17, 2021

Sounds ominous!

Newzlady May 17, 2021

I'm betting you've used your isolation time more productively than most.

I need to venture over to Flickr and see what you've been up to.

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ May 18, 2021

I was productive with writing and photography certainly, but sadly, not in tackling my many good books to read! sighs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.