Fifteen minutes of shame in Fish On!

  • May 4, 2014, 3:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few weeks ago I noticed that a piece I wrote back in July had become the most-read post on a blog I have elsewhere. Why this post in particular, I wondered.

Well, I finally figured it out. And I'm not sure how I feel about it.

It seems that if one googles "Jeremy Wade shirtless," my blog post "Jeremy vs. Jeremy" is listed on the first results page.

Oh yay.

Doesn't it just figure that one of the most ridiculous things I've ever written has become one of the most-read. And not just one of the most-read, but one of the most-read by people who actually deliberately search for "Jeremy Wade shirtless."

Boy, I hope this isn't the thing that gets me my 15 minutes of fame. I mean, sure, it beats getting famous via a news headline that includes my name and the words "tragedy" and/or "freak accident," but ... is being widely known as the "Jeremy Wade shirtless" blogger that much better? Meh.  

On the other hand, if it should happen to result in Jeremy Wade finally handing over the goods (i.e., a Jeremy Wade shirtless photograph, ideally with an autograph reading "To Kimber, XOXOXOXO, Jeremy Wade), then to hell with my Pulitzer fantasy.


Gangleri May 04, 2014

Any fame is fame, yo'

NorthernSeeker May 04, 2014

You can have both...a Pulitzer and an autographed photo of Jeremy, shirtless.

banker chick May 04, 2014

What's the saying? No publicity is bad publicity? I say run with it. :)

seedys May 04, 2014

You're right, it could be so many more embarrassing thing than this that you are 'famous' for.... that was at least screamingly funny writing--really!

Justlovely May 09, 2014

Tick Tock Tick May 11, 2014

I'm bending over with laughter!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.