Errand Day in Here Be Dust

  • May 3, 2014, 7:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'll need to wear long sleeves while undergoing chemo, so I picked up a couple of light-fabric, long-sleeved shirts that I can wear separately or slip on over a tee. Found trays to make "ice sticks" to suck on. Did three loads at the Laundromat and had an hour-long phone conversation with a friend while there. Reserved transportation for Tuesday's surgery to get a port put in. Did food shopping. Got more hand sanitizer and soap. Mail at my PO Box included my new lymphedema alert bracelet, offered free from Peninsula Medical:

Originally I was going to drive to the hospital and M would drive me back after I got my port, but she's worried about some new drips under the car and wants a mechanic to look at them. It's just as well, since she's not accustomed to driving my car -- we had a test run yesterday when everything was calm. Surgery day will have considerably more variables, especially since I won't know my hospital arrival time until Monday. I'll be using the same cab service (experienced in transporting medical patients) that I had used for my lumpectomy.

Fortunately, the cancer center where I'll receive chemo is only 3-1/2 miles from home, compared with about 15 miles between home and the hospital.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.